智能牛耳夹促进农牧生产

一头牛 (© Kraipet Sritong/Shutterstock)
(© Kraipet Sritong/Shutterstock)

俄勒冈州(Oregon)东部养牛的牧民过去很难及时得到有关他们的牛群的健康信息。

为此,梅丽莎·布兰道(Melissa Brandao)创办了HerdDogg技术公司,并设计了一种智能耳夹,用于收集有关牲畜健康的信息,例如体重、疾病或生殖能力,及其所处位置。这种耳夹实际上是一个可戴式电脑,将有关数据传输到一个共享的在线数据中心(云盘),供牧民实时追踪他们的牛群。

布兰道说:“每个人都想得到同样的东西,就是有关他们的牛群的更多的信息。”布兰道曾在硅谷(Silicon Valley)就职,后来离开高科技公司去帮助农牧民利用精确的养殖农业技术来管理他们的养殖业。她说:“直接在他们的手机上管理操作是一个巨大的启示。”

布兰道的专利技术带来的数据和发现可供全世界的科研人员使用,其中包括中央昆士兰大学(Central Queensland University)精确养殖管理(Precision Livestock Management)专业以及澳大利亚肉畜协会(Meat & Livestock Australia)科研部门的人员,以改善养殖牛群的牧民的生计。

而且这种技术也适用于山羊、绵羊和大角羊。

一群羊和羊群身边的人 (© Oscar Hovde Berntsen)
在挪威戴着HerdDogg耳夹的绵羊 (© Oscar Hovde Berntsen)

布兰道说,她曾接到印度尼西亚的一位水牛养殖者、内罗毕的一位养牛妇女、沙特阿拉伯的一位骆驼赶手以及以色列的牧羊人打来的电话。

她说,她的公司为巴西和澳大利亚的奶牛和肉牛、挪威的绵羊以及怀俄明州(Wyoming)的大角羊提供了耳夹。

解决问题的创新方案

像HerdDogg这样的美国技术正在让农牧民能够迅速介入,及时地为他们的牲畜提供所需的照护,改善牲畜健康并提高生产力。这对于到2050年要为全球超过90亿人口提供粮食的农牧民具有重要意义。

在即将举行的全球创业峰会(Global Entrepreneurship Summit)上,美国将让布兰道这样的创新者与全世界的投资者汇聚一堂。这个一年一度的峰会今年将在荷兰举行,通过创新促进繁荣。

美国和荷兰将于6月3-5日在海牙(The Hague)共同举办2019年全球创业峰会。今年峰会的主题是“现在就是未来”(The Future Now),侧重于五大关键领域:农业/粮食、互联互通、能源、健康和水资源。

A ‘Fitbit’ for cows boosts ag production

Close-up of a cow (© Kraipet Sritong/Shutterstock)
(© Kraipet Sritong/Shutterstock)

Cattle ranchers in eastern Oregon used to have a difficult time getting timely health information on their livestock.

That’s why Melissa Brandao founded HerdDogg, a technology company with a “smart” ear tag to collect information on an animal’s health — such as weight, illness or fertility — and location. The tag is essentially a wearable computer that transmits information to a shared online data center (“the cloud”) so that ranchers can track their cows in real time.

“Everybody’s looking for the same thing, which is more information on their herd,” said Brandao, who left the Silicon Valley business-tech world to help farmers and ranchers manage their operations through precision livestock and agriculture technology. “To manage them directly on their phones is a huge revelation.”

Her patented technology has generated data and discoveries that researchers around the world — such as the Precision Livestock Management faculty at Central Queensland University or the research division of Meat & Livestock Australia — use to improve the livelihood of cattle ranchers.

But the technology also is good for the cows … and goats, sheep and elk.

A group of sheep in a building with people standing next to them (© Oscar Hovde Berntsen)
Sheep in Norway wearing HerdDogg tags (© Oscar Hovde Berntsen)

Brandao said she’s fielded calls from a water buffalo herdsman in Indonesia, a woman with cows in Nairobi, a camel driver in Saudi Arabia, and a goat herder in Israel.

She said the company has tagged dairy and beef cows in Brazil and Australia, sheep in Norway and elk in Wyoming.

Innovations that solve problems

U.S. technologies such as HerdDogg allow farmers and shepherds to intervene quickly with the right care for their animals at the right time, boosting herd health and productivity. That’s important for farmers who will need to feed a global population of more than 9 billion people by the year 2050.

At the upcoming Global Entrepreneurship Summit, the United States will bring together innovators like Brandao with investors from around the world. The annual summit, to be held this year in the Netherlands, promotes prosperity through innovation.

The U.S. and the Netherlands will co-host GES 2019 June 3–5 in The Hague, Netherlands. The theme of this year’s entrepreneurship summit is “The Future Now,” with a focus on five key sectors: agriculture/food, connectivity, energy, health and water.