美国发挥创新精神推进页岩油革命

早在上世纪70年代,美国严重依靠从中东(Middle East)进口的石油,人们排长队加油的现象屡见不鲜。但如今情况已经发生巨大变化。2018年,美国已超过俄罗斯和沙特阿拉伯,成为全世界最大的原油生产国。

其中的原因并没有神秘之处。美国现在可以通过水力压裂,用掺入化学物质的压裂液灌入页岩层进行液压碎裂后释放天然气和石油。这种开采方式以前人们都认为没有可能。

其他国家也有页岩,有些国家还尝试了裂解开采的方法,但是没有任何国家像美国石油生产者这样开采出如此大量的石油和天然气。

20年来3国石油产量图示。 (State Dept./D. Thompson)
20年来3国石油产量图示。 (State Dept./D. Thompson)

《绿色与黑色:页岩革命全过程》(The Green and the Black: The Complete story of the Shale Revolution)一书的作者盖里·森诺维茨(Gary Sernovitz)认为,区别在于美国石油生产者坚持创新和实验,努力寻求新的方式开采资源。

他表示,很多方面的改进单独看都不大,但聚沙成塔,方可终成大业,就如同iPhone一样,现在已经并不新鲜。电脑也不是新事物,应用程序也不少见,手机也很普遍,但是可以通过有创意的新途径综合各种技术,引导出翻天覆地的成果。

美国坚持的创业精神也有助于石油开采。

森诺维茨说,“美国有很多小型创新公司设法通过各种途径营利,这已经成为一种传统。尽管这些努力在很多情况下并不成功,但人们仍然坚持创新。”

他还说,如果有了基础设施、管道和炼油厂,也有大量资金流入,就可以促进创新、实验,当然其间也会有失误。美国实行矿产私有制。这与其他国家有很大的不同。 在其他有些国家是国营公司占优势。

目前美国每天可生产1,100万桶石油,出口石油、天然气和石油产品达900万桶,但仍然每天进口几百万桶石油满足需要。

艾奥瓦大学(University of Iowa)能源历史学家泰勒·普利斯特(Tyler Priest)说,美国各炼油厂更适合于加工较重的低级进口原油,不太适合加工目前来自北达科他州(North Dakota)和南德克萨斯州(South Texas)较轻的高质原油。为此进口轻油更有利。

美国以往进口三分之二的原油,现在仅进口四分之一。

这个趋势正在继续。据能源信息管理局(Energy Information Administration)提供的资料,美国自1953年以来始终是能源净进口国,到2020年可能成为净出口国。

American ingenuity, drive sparked shale oil revolution

In the 1970s, Americans faced long lines at gasoline pumps and the country depended heavily on oil imports from the Middle East. How things have changed. Today the United States is the world’s largest crude oil producer, surpassing Russia and Saudi Arabia in 2018, according to the U.S. Energy Information Administration.

The reason is no secret. The U.S. now extracts oil and natural gas in abundance from shale by fracking, pumping water and chemicals down deep wells to fracture rocks and tap resources that had been thought irretrievable.

Other countries have shale, and some are engaged in fracking. Yet nobody extracts as much oil and gas as American oil producers.

Chart showing oil production by three countries over 20 years (State Dept./D. Thompson)What’s made the difference, says Gary Sernovitz, author of The Green and the Black: The Complete story of the Shale Revolution, is that American oil producers kept innovating and experimenting with new ways to extract these resources.

A lot of improvements were small, but they added up. “It’s sort of like the iPhone. You think, ‘What’s new about it? Computers aren’t new, apps aren’t new, cellphones aren’t new,’ but the technology got combined in new, novel ways to produce something revolutionary,” he says.

The American commitment to free enterprise also helped ignite the oil gusher.

“The U.S. has a tradition of small, entrepreneurial companies that go after any way to make money. A lot of times they didn’t, but they always kept trying to innovate,” says Sernovitz.

“You had infrastructure, pipelines and refineries, and a lot of capital that flowed in … and fueled creativity and trial and error,” he adds. “And you have private ownership of minerals in the United States. That’s very different than in other countries,” where state-owned companies dominate.

While the U.S. is producing almost 11 million barrels of oil daily and exporting 9 million barrels of oil, gas and petroleum products, it still imports several million barrels a day to meet its needs.

U.S. refineries are geared more to processing heavier, lower-grade, imported crude than the lighter, higher-quality oil now coming out of North Dakota and South Texas, says Tyler Priest, a University of Iowa energy historian. That makes it more profitable to export the light oil.

While the United States used to import two-thirds of its crude, it now imports less than one-fourth.

And that trend is expected to continue. The Energy Information Administration says the United States has been a net energy importer since 1953 but likely will become a net exporter by 2020.