中国斩断维吾尔族儿童的根基

有关专家指出,中国政府大规模关押维吾尔人及其他穆斯林少数群体的行径正在使一代人实质上成为孤儿,他们就是不了解自己的文化的一代儿童。

自由亚洲电台(Radio Free Asia)维语部(Uyghur Service)的阿里木·塞依托夫(Alim Seytoff )于8月7日在美国国务院有关中国在新疆镇压穆斯林少数群体的研讨会上说:“中国政府将他们送进孤儿院,该政府在那里基本上是给他们洗脑。”

自2017年以来,中国有关当局已将新疆100多万名维吾尔人、哈萨克族人、吉尔吉斯人及其他穆斯林少数民族成员监禁在拘留营中。被关押者在拘留营中被迫放弃自己的民族认同、宗教信仰和习俗。据报告,有些被关押者受到酷刑折磨或其他非人待遇,其中包括性虐待。

他们的子女被送进孤儿院,被迫高喊爱国口号、学汉语并回答有关他们的父母的宗教信仰和习俗的问题。详尽报道过维吾尔人状况的塞依托夫说,这些机构正在“养大的下一代维吾尔人根本没有维吾尔族传统、维吾尔族教育或伊斯兰信仰”。

一名妇女和儿童站在标有中文校名的门前设有路障的学校前 (© Ng Han Guan/AP Images)
新疆少数民族学校门前设有一道道摄像头、铁丝网和路障 (© Ng Han Guan/AP Images)

在新疆就连给孩子取名也受到有关当局的管控。有规定禁止在为新生儿取名时使用一些伊斯兰名字,而且向儿童传授宗教会受到惩罚。

独立研究人员郑国恩(Adrian Zenz)在最近的一篇报告中引用了中国政府一份有关镇压少数民族的官方文件中所说的,要将他们“断代、断根、断联、断源”。[请见英文报道]

维吾尔人权项目(Uyghur Human Rights Project)的努里·特克尔(Nury Turkel)也在美国国务院的研讨会上发言指出,如果中国在新疆的政策得逞,“维吾尔族群-民族认同便将会被抹杀”。

China cuts children’s Uighur roots

The Chinese government’s mass detentions of Uighurs and other Muslim minorities is creating a generation of virtual orphans, children who won’t know their culture, experts say.

“The Chinese government takes them to the orphanages, and there the government basically brainwashes them,” Alim Seytoff of the Uyghur Service at Radio Free Asia said during an August 7 State Department panel discussion on Chinese repression of Muslim minorities in Xinjiang, China.

Since 2017, Chinese authorities have imprisoned in camps more than 1 million Uighurs, ethnic Kazakhs, Kyrgyz and other members of ethnic Muslim minorities in Xinjiang. In the camps, prisoners are forced to renounce their ethnic identities and religious beliefs and practices. Some detainees are reportedly subjected to torture or other inhumane treatment, including sexual abuse.

Their children are sent to orphanages and forced to shout patriotic slogans, learn Mandarin Chinese and answer questions about their parents’ religious beliefs and practices. These institutions are “bringing up the next generation of Uighurs without any kind of Uighur tradition, Uighur education or Islamic faith,” said Seytoff, who has done extensive reporting on Uighur issues.

Woman and child standing outside barricaded school with Chinese signs (© Ng Han Guan/AP Images)
Schools for ethnic minorities in Xinjiang are guarded with multiple layers of cameras, barbed wire and barricades. (© Ng Han Guan/AP Images)

Even the names of children in Xinjiang are controlled by authorities. Regulations ban the use of some Islamic names when naming newborns and set punishments for the teaching of religion to children.

Independent researcher Adrian Zenz in a recent report cites an official Chinese government document discussing a campaign against ethnic minorities to “break their lineage, break their roots, break their connections, and break their origins.”

Nury Turkel of the Uyghur Human Rights Project, who also spoke at the State Department panel session, said that if China’s policies in Xinjiang succeed, “Uighur ethno-national identity will be destroyed.”