Illustration of people carrying North-Korea-flag-labeled suitcases and walking on globe toward North Korea (State Dept./D. Thompson)
(State Dept./D. Thompson)

Portugal, United Arab Emirates, Italy, Spain, Mexico, Peru and Kuwait are among nations to expel North Korean diplomats because of North Korea’s reckless pursuit of nuclear weapons.

More than 20 countries have acted this year to restrict North Korean diplomatic activities.

Casting out top diplomats is just one way countries around the world have denounced Kim Jong-un’s regime for unlawful testing of missiles and nuclear devices.

The U.N. Security Council has imposed sanctions against North Korea since that country’s first nuclear test in 2006, most recently in response to its illegal September 3 nuclear test.  The cumulative U.N. sanctions to date will deny North Korea $2.4 billion in trade revenue, if properly enforced. U.S. Secretary of State Rex Tillerson called the security council resolutions “a unanimous view of what’s needed for North Korea to correct the situation.”

President Trump designated North Korea a “state sponsor of terrorism” in November. Rounds of sanctions in September, October and November target individuals and shipping and transportation companies.

“We have put in place the strongest economic sanctions ever to have been assembled against Kim Jong Un.”
— Secretary of State Rex Tillerson

Egypt, the Philippines and Uganda also have taken steps to cut ties with North Korea in 2017. Egypt and Uganda halted military cooperation, and the Philippines and Singapore have suspended trade relations to comply with sanctions against North Korea.

Other countries, recognizing that U.N. sanctions are not enough, have adopted additional measures. Those countries include Australia, the Republic of Korea, Japan and Latvia. The European Union also adopted additional measures. Pakistan issued an official government notice prohibiting its companies from engaging with U.S.-sanctioned entities.

An earlier version of this story was published on October 2.

Nations that have
expelled diplomats

United Arab Emirates

Nations that adopted
additional measures

Republic of Korea