美国对外援助数据库提高外援透明度

医生用听诊器给儿童做检查(USAID/Daniel Lanari)
美国国际发展署协同其合作伙伴支持地方诊所,如图中在加纳阿克拉(Accra)的诊所,以提高母亲和儿童的存活率。(USAID/Daniel Lanari)

根据对外援助数据库(Foreign Aid Explorer)提供的数据,在2010年海地遭受7级地震灾害后,美国政府向该国提供了10亿美元援助。

美国国际发展署(U.S. Agency for International Development)的数据库能够告诉你在一个特定的财政年度中哪个美国政府机构用于对外援助的支出最高,以及其他很多数据。

这个数据库是在1961年《对外援助法》(Foreign Assistance Act)通过之后建立的。据美国国际发展署介绍,它提供了从1945年直至近期的美国对外援助的详细数据。

依照法律,美国国际发展署向国会(Congress)报告美国政府向各国提供的对外援助的情况。同样的信息以透明的方式被收入数据库,每季度及每年都得到更新。任何一位有兴趣的用户都可以利用对外援助数据库根据国别或各个美国机构来搜索相关数据。

在已有完整数据的最近一年,即2018年财政年度,美国向208个国家总计提供了460亿美元对外援助。美国国际发展署是美国各机构中出资最多的,支出了超过200亿美元。其首要援助类别是医卫和人口,获款69亿美元。其中半数以上用于艾滋病病毒/艾滋病的预防。该财政年度获得援助最多的地区是非洲撒哈拉沙漠以南地区(sub-Saharan Africa),该地区获得了118亿美元。

美国从2001年到2018年提供的对外援助的曲线图(资料来源:美国国际发展署对外援助数据库)
(美国国务院,Helen Efrem)
2018财政年度美国对外援助总额以及五大受援国图示(资料来源:美国国际发展署对外援助数据库)
(美国国务院,Helen Efrem)

美国国际发展署的一位官员说:“重要的是不仅要提供数据,而且要以一种节约成本的方式分享数据。”他还说该数据库有助于纳税人便捷地看到他们的对外援助款项的使用情况。

对外援助数据库的宗旨是提供各项计划由谁来执行的情况。它确保美国履行其帮助其他国家进一步做到自力更生的承诺。它还能帮助受援国规划他们自己的发展努力。

Doctor holding stethoscope to child's chest (USAID/Daniel Lanari)
Through its partners, USAID supports clinics such as this one in Accra, Ghana, to boost survival rates of mothers and children. (USAID/Daniel Lanari)

After a 7.0 earthquake hit Haiti in 2010, the U.S. government gave the country $1 billion in aid, with the U.S. Department of Defense sending the most money, according to the Foreign Aid Explorer database.

The U.S. Agency for International Development’s database can tell you which U.S. government agency spent the most on foreign aid in a given fiscal year, and so much more.

The database was developed after passage of the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961. It offers comprehensive details of U.S. foreign assistance from 1945 to the recent past, according to USAID.

By law, USAID reports to Congress what the U.S. government funds for foreign assistance — by country. The same information is transparently supplied to the database, which is updated quarterly and annually. Any interested user can use the Foreign Aid Explorer to search by country or U.S. agency.

In fiscal year 2018, the most recent year complete data is available, America spent $46 billion in foreign aid, which was spread out among 208 countries. USAID was the top spender among U.S. agencies, disbursing more than $20 billion. Its top spending category was health and population, which received $6.9 billion. More than half of that went toward HIV/AIDS prevention. At $11.8 billion, sub-Saharan Africa was the region that received the most assistance that fiscal year.

Line graph of U.S. foreign aid given from fiscal years 2001 to 2018 (Source: Foreign Aid Explorer, USAID)
(State Dept, Helen Efrem)
Waffle graphs of total U.S. foreign aid for FY 2018 and for top five aid recipients (Source: Foreign Aid Explorer, USAID)
(State Dept, Helen Efrem)

“It’s important to not only provide the data, but a cost-effective means of sharing the data,” a USAID official said, adding that the database helps taxpayers easily see their foreign assistance dollars at work.

The database is designed to share who implemented what program. It ensures America keeps its commitments to help other countries become more self-reliant. And it helps recipient countries chart their own development efforts.