维吾尔族学者女儿努力为父亲争取自由

Jewher Ilham (© Saul Loeb/AFP/Getty Images)
菊尔·伊力哈木是被中国当局逮捕的一位维吾尔族著名学者的女儿。 (© Saul Loeb/AFP/Getty Images)

2013年,18岁的菊尔·伊力哈木(Jewher Ilham)在和父亲即将乘飞机前往美国时,中国当局阻止并逮捕了她的父亲。在父亲的坚持下,菊尔只身一人登上飞机。

过去五年来,菊尔一直在为使父亲获释而努力。他的父亲伊力哈木·土赫提(Ilham Tohti)因倡导尊重维吾尔族文化而被判处无期徒刑。

菊尔和土赫提是维吾尔族穆斯林。菊尔的父亲在北京是一位国际知名的作家和经济学者,针对维吾尔族、汉族和其他中国少数民族之间的跨文化问题著有论述。

菊尔说,“他想建立一座桥梁,增进人们的相互理解”。菊尔出席了国务院于7月16日至18日在华盛顿举行的“促进宗教自由部长级会议”(Ministerial to Advance Religious Freedom)。会议召集了不同国家的政府、组织和宗教领袖,共商制止宗教迫害。

Two women in crowd crying and embracing (© Ng Han Guan/AP Images)
新疆发生的一系列逮捕使维吾尔族妇女悲痛欲绝。 (© Ng Han Guan/AP Images)

但是,菊尔说,土赫提“行使言论自由,对宗教自由给予理智的维护,为使维吾尔族人受到平等对待而进行的奋斗均为中国所不容”。她说,中国政府非但不与维吾尔人族共同努力,“中国政府决定要灭绝我们的文化”。

自2017年以来,中国当局在新疆关押了100多万维吾尔族人、哈萨克族人和其他穆斯林少数民族人。他们受到酷刑,被强迫放弃自己的宗教,被要求对中国共产党唱赞歌。

菊尔说,来美国是“我有生以来最正确的决定”。她说,在中国,“政府只想要你相信政府”;他们认为如果你有信仰,“你就更难被控制”。

Daughter of Uighur scholar fights for his freedom

Closeup of dark-haired young woman (© Saul Loeb/AFP/Getty Images)
Jewher Ilham is the daughter of a prominent Uighur academic arrested by Chinese authorities. (© Saul Loeb/AFP/Getty Images)

Jewher Ilham was 18 when she and her father were set to board a plane to visit the United States in 2013 and Chinese authorities stopped and arrested him. At her father’s insistence, Jewher got on the plane without him.

She has spent the last five years trying to free her father, Ilham Tohti, who was sentenced to spend the rest of his life in prison for advocating respect for Uighur culture.

Jewher and Tohti are Uighur Muslims. Her father is an internationally known writer and economist in Beijing who wrote about cross-cultural issues between Uighurs, Han and other Chinese ethnic groups.

“He wanted to create a bridge to help people understand each other,” said Jewher, who was in Washington attending the State Department’s Ministerial to Advance Religious Freedom. The July 16–18 event brings together leaders from different governments, organizations and religions to address religious persecution.

Two women in crowd crying and embracing (© Ng Han Guan/AP Images)
Uighur women grieving after a series of arrests in Xinjiang, China (© Ng Han Guan/AP Images)

However, Tohti’s “exercise of free speech, his intellectual defense of religious freedom, his fight for the Uighurs to be treated equally could not be tolerated by the Chinese,” Jewher said. Instead of working with the Uighurs, “the Chinese government decided to eliminate our culture.”

Since 2017, Chinese authorities have imprisoned more than 1 million Uighur, Kazakh and other members of ethnic Muslim minorities in Xinjiang, China. There they are tortured, forced to renounce their religion and required to praise the Chinese Communist Party.

Coming to America was the “best decision I have ever made,” Jewher said. In China, the “government only wants you to believe in the government;” they think if you have faith “you will be harder to control.”