为妇女消除经济壁垒以促进经济增长

与会人士围坐在长桌旁(美国国务院/Freddie Everett)
国务卿迈克尔·蓬佩奥和白宫顾问伊万卡·特朗普及其他人士于2月12日在美国国务院(美国国务院/Freddie Everett)

白宫的“妇女全球发展和繁荣计划”(Women’s Global Development and Prosperity Initiative,W-GDP)希望到2025年能在整个发展中世界达及5000万名妇女。

白宫顾问伊万卡·特朗普(Ivanka Trump)于2月12日在该计划启动一周年之际指出:“我们能够努力增进数以百万计的妇女的权能,让她们的家庭摆脱贫困,在她们的国家发展经济,减少依赖,并实现促进和平与繁荣的承诺。”

她在美国国务院表示,“妇女全球发展和繁荣计划”自启动以来,已经达及超过1200万妇女——而且这一数字预期还会增长。

伊万卡·特朗普谈增进妇女企业家权能的讲话摘录(美国国务院/Helen Efrem)

这项计划通过私营-公营伙伴关系在新兴市场增加妇女的就业培训及创业机会。该计划还着手解决阻碍妇女参与本国经济的法律和社会框架问题,其中包括妇女拥有财产以及和男性从事一样的工作并在同样的部门就业的能力。

在白宫和特朗普顾问的高层接触之后,有两个国家——科特迪瓦和摩洛哥——去年修订了过去不让妇女拥有财产和土地的法律。但还有其他75个国家仍有不允许妇女拥有、管理或继承财产的法律。

为解决上述问题,迈克尔·蓬佩奥(Michael R. Pompeo)国务卿宣布在国务院成立一个专门致力于这项计划的部门,由全球妇女问题无任所大使(Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women’s Issues)凯利·克里(Kelley E. Currie)领导。

蓬佩奥指出:“妇女全球发展和繁荣计划的必要性是鲜明的,也是紧迫的。在全世界太多的地区存在着太多的障碍,阻止妇女获得机遇。”

迈克尔·蓬佩奥的近照以及他谈妇女成就的讲话摘录(美国国务院/Ron Przysucha)

Eliminating economic barriers for women grows economies

Horseshoe-shaped table with participants seated around it (State Dept./Freddie Everett)
Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo, White House adviser Ivanka Trump and others at the State Department on February 12. (State Dept./Freddie Everett)

A White House initiative hopes to reach 50 million women across the developing world by 2025.

“We can work to empower millions of women to lift their families out of poverty, to grow the economies in their country, to reduce dependence, and to deliver on the promise of greater peace and prosperity,” White House adviser Ivanka Trump said February 12 to mark the first anniversary of the White House’s Women’s Global Development and Prosperity Initiative (W-GDP).

Since its launch, W-GDP has reached over 12 million women — and that number promises to grow, Trump said at the U.S. State Department.

Graphic with quote from Ivanka Trump on empowering women entrepreneurs (State Dept./Helen Efrem)The initiative increases workforce training and entrepreneurship opportunities for women in emerging markets through private-public partnerships. It also addresses the legal and societal strictures that impede women’s participation in their countries’ economies, including women’s ability to own property and work in the same jobs and sectors as men.

Following high-level engagement from the White House and adviser Trump, two countries — Côte D’Ivoire and Morocco — amended laws last year that previously prevented women from owning property and land. But 75 other countries still have laws that do not allow women to own, manage or inherit property.

To address these issues, Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo announced the creation of a State Department unit dedicated to the initiative, under the leadership of Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women’s Issues Kelley E. Currie.

“The need for the W-GDP is clear and it’s urgent,” Pompeo said. “Too many barriers have kept women from opportunities in far too many parts of the world.”

Close-up of Mike Pompeo with his quote on women's achievements overlaid (State Dept./Ron Przysucha)