在委内瑞拉,麻疹和白喉等病的发病率在惊人上升;与此同时,22000多名医生弃国而去,75%的医院缺少医院正常运转所需的基本医药用品。

临时总统胡安·瓜伊多(Juan Guaidó)将问题根源直指尼古拉斯·马杜罗(Nicolás Maduro)。他在《纽约时报》(New York Times)撰文说,“医疗系统垮台,越来越多儿童营养不良,已被消灭的疾病重新出现。”

世界卫生组织(World Health Organization)宣布,2018年委内瑞拉出现空前数量的麻疹、白喉和疟疾病例。仅在两年前,世卫组织宣布在美洲地区根除麻疹——使美洲成为世界上第一个麻疹绝迹的地方。如今,西半球国家正在大力遏止麻疹卷土重来。

2018年9月,美洲国家组织(Organization of American States)助理总干事内斯特·门德斯(Nestor Mendez)大使在世卫组织美洲地区委员会(WHO Regional Committee for the Americas)第70届会议上谈到委内瑞拉时说,“医疗系统的灾难以及食品和医药用品的匮乏导致一些可治疾病的激增”。Photo of young boy getting vaccinated with text about increase in malaria cases (© Fernando Llano/AP Images)他说,“这场人道危机对美洲其他地区具有重大影响”。

阿根廷、巴西、哥伦比亚、秘鲁和厄瓜多尔的卫生机构都发现了与委内瑞拉麻疹病例有相同基因的麻疹病例。这些国家共同接纳了逃到海外的340万委内瑞拉人。

对委内瑞拉的最近的一批人道援助于3月7日运到哥伦比亚库库塔(Cúcuta)。由美国国际发展署(U.S. Agency for International Development)提供的这批物资包括协助防止疾病扩散以及预防和控制感染的医药物资

自2017年以来,美国提供了超过1.52亿美元人道援助,帮助委内瑞拉人民以及那些接待逃到海外的委内瑞拉人的一些国家和社区。最新运送的这批医药,使美国500多吨援助物资在与委内瑞拉接壤的巴西和哥伦比亚边境预置到位,其中包括食品、医疗、卫生装备、水桶以及营养产品等。此外,国务院还向哥伦比亚境内的儿童,包括逃到那里的委内瑞拉儿童,提供预防免疫针药。

2月23日,由于马杜罗下令委内瑞拉军方阻拦——尽管有许多军人拒绝执行命令或脱离,援助物资被阻挡在境外。

Graphic showing increase in measles and diphtheria cases in Venezuela from 2015 to 2018 (State Dept.)

Illnesses such as measles and diphtheria have re-emerged at alarming rates in Venezuela at a time when 22,000 doctors have left the country and 75 percent of hospitals lack basic medicines typically available in functioning hospitals.

Interim President Juan Guaidó lays the blame squarely at the feet of Nicolás Maduro. “Health systems have collapsed, a growing number of children are suffering from malnutrition, and previously eradicated illnesses have re-emerged,” he writes in the New York Times.

The World Health Organization declared record cases of measles, diphtheria and malaria in Venezuela in 2018. Only two years ago, the organization granted the Americas a certificate of eradication for measles — a world first. Now, the Western Hemisphere is fighting off its return.

“The devastation of the health care system and the shortages of food and medical supplies have spurred outbreaks of treatable diseases,” Ambassador Nestor Mendez, assistant secretary-general of the Organization of American States, said of Venezuela at the 70th session of the WHO Regional Committee for the Americas in September 2018.

Photo of young boy getting vaccinated with text about increase in malaria cases (© Fernando Llano/AP Images)“This humanitarian crisis has significant implications for the rest of the Americas,” he said.

Health authorities in Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Peru and Ecuador have documented measles cases that share the same genotype as the kind found in Venezuela. Each country hosts a portion of the 3.4 million Venezuelans living abroad.

The latest shipment of humanitarian aid for Venezuela was delivered to Cúcuta, Colombia, on March 7. The U.S. Agency for International Development shipment included medical supplies to help stop the spread of disease and to prevent and control infections.

Since 2017, the United States has provided more than $152 million in humanitarian assistance to help Venezuelans and support the countries and communities that are hosting Venezuelans who have fled their country. With this new shipment of medical supplies, the United States has now pre-positioned more than 500 metric tons of relief supplies, including food, medical supplies, hygiene kits, buckets and nutrition products at the Brazilian and Colombian borders with Venezuela. In addition to these supplies, the State Department has also made vaccinations available to vulnerable children in Colombia, including Venezuelans who have fled there.

Attempts on February 23 to transport aid into the country were blocked by Maduro’s orders to the Venezuelan military to stop its entry, despite many who defected or refused to follow his orders.

Graphic showing increase in measles and diphtheria cases in Venezuela from 2015 to 2018 (State Dept.)