美国公众通过信息自由法了解政府施政情况

Filing cabinets full of file folders holding paper
(© Shutterstock)

警方对驾车发短信开出了多少罚单?

为什么工作多年的政府官员突然告退?

在美国,任何人都可以按照《信息自由法》(Freedom of Information Act)的规定要求政府提供公共信息,不论是电子邮件、电子信息,还是警方记录、开支报表等政府文件。

美国于1967年通过的《信息自由法》规定,除涉及个人隐私或国家安全的一些特殊情况外,联邦、各州和地方政府机构必须为申请人提供有关信息。

信息自由法开创了政府施政透明的新时代。据信息自由法律师马克·扎伊德(Mark S. Zaid)说,在这部法律颁布前,美国没有任何申请信息的正式程序。政府各机构按照1946年《行政程序法》(Administrative Procedure Act )提供合作。

扎伊德说,“信息自由法的基本目的是了解政府在做什么。政府工作最好的方式是在阳光下运行。如果我们能够了解到内部情况,公众就可以根据得到的信息做出决定,我们希望选什么人担任公职,我们希望政府制定什么政策。”

根据信息自由法,申请人须向保存有关信息的机构提交书面申请。各州和各市按照各自的规定提供答复。

按照规定,除非存在特殊情况,联邦政府必须在20个工作日内给予答复,通常从政府职能机构收到申请时起算。

如果联邦、各州和地方政府决定不予受理,申请人有权就有关决定向法院提出申诉。

据司法部(Department of Justice)提供的资料,2019年联邦政府收到858,952件信息自由法申请,略低于前一年的863,729件。

这部法律考虑到新闻记者的需要,但任何人都可以提出申请。 根据信息自由法辑录(FOIA Mapper)2017年的资料,在当年样本容量范围内向85个联邦机构提出的229,000 件申请中,工商企业,包括律师事务所提出信息自由法的申请最多。

 

美国证券交易委员会(U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission)收到工商企业提出的询问最多,其次是美国退伍军人事务部(U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs)。

为什么工商企业都想了解政府的工作情况?扎伊德说,这可能与市场环境有关。大型公司特别希望尽可能了解竞争对手的所有情况。

How anyone can request government records

Filing cabinet drawers full of file folders holding paper (© Shutterstock)
(© Shutterstock)

Want to know how many tickets police issued to motorists for texting while driving?

Or maybe you’re a journalist trying to understand why a long-time government official retired so suddenly.

In the United States, anyone can use the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) to request public records from the government, whether those records are emails, electronic messages, police reports, expense reports or other government documents.

The act, which went into effect in 1967, compels federal, state and local government agencies to release the information requested unless it falls under specific exemptions, such as personal privacy or national security.

FOIA ushered in a new era of government transparency. Before FOIA, there was no formal process to request records. Government agencies cooperated under the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946, says Mark S. Zaid, a longtime FOIA attorney.

“The whole premise of FOIA is to learn what the government is up to,” Zaid says. “The best way a government operates is in the sunlight. And the public can make informed decisions about who we want in elected office and what policies we want the government to pursue if we know what is going on behind the scenes.”

Under FOIA rules, a request in writing is sent to the agency that holds the relevant information. Response requirements vary among states and cities.

The federal government is required to respond within 20 business days unless there are unusual circumstances. The clock usually starts ticking once the responsible government agency receives the request.

If the government — federal, state or local — issues a denial, the requester has the right to appeal that decision in court.

According to the Department of Justice, in 2019 the federal government received 858,952 FOIA requests, slightly lower than the 863,729 it received the year before.

Graph showing FOIA requests received from 2007 to 2019 (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)

Chart showing which federal government agencies receive most FOIA requests (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)Although the law was established with journalists in mind, any citizen can use it. A 2017 analysis from FOIA Mapper shows commercial businesses, including law firms, filed the most FOIA requests within the sample size that year. (The study analyzed 229,000 requests sent to 85 federal government agencies.)

Chart showing who sends most FOIA requests to federal agencies (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)Chart showing where businesses send FOIA requests (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission received the most  business queries, followed by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Why would businesses want to know what the government is up to? It is probably about the marketplace, Zaid explains. Large companies, especially, want to know anything and everything they can know about their competitors.