国际妇女勇气奖大会向伊朗妇女致意

美国国务院3月7日举行国际妇女勇气奖(International Women of Courage Award)颁奖仪式,表彰来自世界各地的新生妇女领袖。今年获奖的10位女性在倡导人权、妇女平等和社会进步方面展示了非凡的勇气,甚至往往不惜冒巨大人身危险。

国务卿迈克·蓬佩奥(Mike Pompeo)表示,“从毕生经历中”他知道,“到处都有勇敢的女性,到处都需要勇敢的女性”。

获奖人士中有公诉人,警官和宗教领袖;有反贫困、反恐怖主义、反家庭暴力和反迫害宗教少数派的斗士。

除向10位女性颁奖外,颁奖大会还向过去一年来尽管面临骚扰、逮捕、长期徒刑、甚至酷刑迫害而大无畏地以和平方式向伊朗腐败政权发出挑战的伊朗妇女表示敬意。

蓬佩奥说,“去年,就在大约这个时候,伊朗各地几十名妇女走上城市街头,对要求她们在公共场所一切时候必须戴盖头的法律表示抗议。这些勇敢的女性为行使她们的自由,面对镜头摘掉盖头,将面孔清晰露出。她们深知当局的残酷而却这样做”。

捍卫伊朗妇女权利

在伊朗,几乎每天——无论是在社交媒体,街头,还是工作场所——都有妇女采取和平和合法的行动,力争恢复被伊朗革命政权剥夺的基本人权。

Nasrin Sotoudeh seated at desk (© Arash Ashourinia/AP Images)
纳西林·索托德赫 (© Arash Ashourinia/AP Images)

人权律师纳西林·索托德赫(Nasrin Sotoudeh)因代表了数位在白色星期三(White Wednesday)运动中被指控在公共场合摘掉盖头的妇女,而在2018年6月被捕,并被关进德黑兰(Tehran)臭名昭著的伊文监狱(Evin Prison)。她最近被定犯“国家安全”罪。

伊朗人权中心(Center for Human Rights in Iran)执行主任哈迪·盖伊米(Hadi Ghaemi)说,“任何说辞都无法掩盖这样一个事实,即索托德赫是因为在伊朗和平地维护人权——包括妇女选择是否戴盖头的权利——而被判罪”。

流亡海外的伊朗律师及前法官、因维护人权而获2003年诺贝尔和平奖(Nobel Peace Prize)的希林·伊巴迪(Shirin Ebadi),也在继续积极支持每天在为要求恢复自己的权利而斗争的勇敢的伊朗妇女。她最近对 “法国24”(FRANCE 24)电视台说,妇女一向被视为是该政权的对立面——是敌人”。

获奖人“给各地女性赋权”

美国国务院自2007年开始颁发国际妇女勇气奖以来,已经表彰了65个以上国家的120多位女性。

第一夫人梅拉尼娅∙特朗普(Melania Trump)在2019年的仪式上说,“这些女性是下一代人的榜样。她们通过自己的努力,给各地女性赋权”。

Iranians honored at Women of Courage awards

The U.S. State Department honored emerging women leaders from around the world on March 7 at the annual International Women of Courage Award ceremony. The awards went to 10 women who have shown exceptional courage in advocating for human rights, women’s equality and social progress, often at great personal risk.

Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said he knows, “from a lifetime of experience, that women of courage exist everywhere and they’re needed everywhere.”

The awardees include a prosecutor, a member of a police force and a religious leader. They include women who fight poverty, terrorism, domestic violence and the persecution of religious minorities.

In addition to the 10 awardees, the event honored Iranian women who fearlessly and peacefully stood up to a corrupt regime during the past year, despite harassment, arrest, long prison sentences and even torture.

“Last year, right around this time, dozens of women across Iran took to city streets to protest the law requiring them to wear the hijab in public at all times,” Pompeo said. “In an exercise of their freedom, these courageous women removed their hijabs in front of cameras, their faces clearly visible. They did so knowing the brutality of their leaders.”

Defending the rights of Iranian women

Nearly every day — whether on social media, on the street or at work — there are women in Iran who take peaceful and legal action in an effort to win back basic human rights that the revolutionary regime has stripped from them.

Nasrin Sotoudeh seated at desk (© Arash Ashourinia/AP Images)
Nasrin Sotoudeh (© Arash Ashourinia/AP Images)

Nasrin Sotoudeh, a human rights lawyer, was arrested and jailed in Tehran’s infamous Evin Prison in June 2018 for representing several of the Iranian women charged with removing their headscarves in public during the White Wednesday campaign. Sotoudeh was recently convicted of “national security” crimes.

“No amount of spin will be able to conceal the fact that Sotoudeh is being persecuted for her peaceful defense of human rights in Iran, including a woman’s right to choose whether to wear a hijab,” said Hadi Ghaemi, executive director of the Center for Human Rights in Iran.

Shirin Ebadi, an exiled Iranian lawyer, former judge and 2003 Nobel Peace Prize winner for her human rights activism, also continues to advocate for the courageous women of Iran in their daily struggle to take back their rights. “Women are always considered as being against the regime — and the enemy,” Ebadi recently told news outlet FRANCE 24.

Awardees ’empower women everywhere’

The State Department has recognized more than 120 women from more than 65 different countries since it began giving the International Women of Courage Awards in 2007.

“These women,” said first lady Melania Trump at the 2019 event, “are role models for the next generation. Through their work, they empower women everywhere.”