请看这些城市如何改善空气质量

美国很多城市中的地方组织与当地政府合作,联手解决长期存在的空气质量问题,这些努力在不少地方已见成效。通过以下掠影,请看三大城市——芝加哥(Chicago)、洛杉矶(Los Angeles)、匹兹堡(Pittsburgh)——如何卓有成效地为当地居民改善空气质量。

芝加哥

Chicago skylines with smog, left, and with clean air, right (Left photo © Kirn Vintage Stock/Alamy. Right photo © M. Spencer Green/AP Images)
伊利诺伊州芝加哥市在1945年(左)和2013年 。(左照© Kirn Vintage Stock/Alamy. 右照© M. Spencer Green/AP Images)

一些当地的技术行动项目,例如Array of Things [AoT],通过在全城灯杆上安装感测装置,采集重要的环境指标数据,帮助城市改善空气质量。于2016年开始的AoT项目所采集的数据规模之大,为芝加哥历史前所未有。此外,芝加哥还成立了防污染团队(Pollution Prevention Unit),着眼于减少排放;呼吸健康协会(Respiratory Health Association)正在与地方伙伴一道,促进更多使用电动车辆和可再生能源。

洛杉矶

Los Angeles with smog, left, and with clean air revealing the San Gabriel Mountains, right (Both images © Nick Ut/AP Images)
1978年烟雾笼罩的洛杉矶(左)。2014年,在白雪盖帽的圣加布里埃尔山脉(San Gabriel Mountains)映衬下的洛杉矶市中心天际线。(Both images © Nick Ut/AP Images)

20世纪以烟雾污染严重闻名的洛杉矶,今天的改变或许最引人注目。一些新型技术,如太阳能以及混合动力和电动能源车,使建筑和能源使用更有利于保护环境。此外,加利福尼亚州(California)的新政策使加州碳排放从1990年到2010年只增长4%。洛杉矶市计划将零排放机车数量增加50%,到2025年完全取消用煤炭。

匹兹堡

Black-and-white photo of smog-covered Pittsburgh and color photo of Pittsburgh with clean air (Left photo © Margaret Bourke-White/The LIFE Picture Collection/Getty Images. Right photo © Clarence Holmes Photography/Alamy)
位于莫农加希拉河(Monongahela)和阿勒格尼河 (Allegheny)夹角的匹兹堡在1936年(左)和2014年(右)。(左照 © Margaret Bourke-White/The LIFE Picture Collection/Getty Images. 右照 © Clarence Holmes Photography/Alamy)

曾以炼钢业著称的匹兹堡,如今是通过新项目和新技术使环境清洁化的样板城市。今天前往匹兹堡的人可以看到那里的PNC 广场塔楼(Tower at PNC Plaza)。这座33层高的办公大楼采用的环保可持续设计超过了美国绿色建筑委员会(U.S. Green Building Council)所发证书的最高标准。匹兹堡计划采用无人驾驶电动车,并安装更有利于环保的信号装置和路灯。2016年,卡内基梅隆大学(Carnegie Mellon University)开发了一个叫做“嗅闻匹兹堡”(Smell Pittsburgh)的应用软件,让人们能够根据气味报告污染。这个软件目前正被发展到全国,帮助其他城市也这样做。

本文由自由撰稿人Lane Mikula提供。

Learn how air quality improved in these cities

Local organizations in many cities are working together with their governments to tackle long-standing issues with air quality, and many of them are already seeing positive results. Here’s how three large urban areas — Chicago, Los Angeles and Pittsburgh — have made strides in helping their residents breathe easier.

Chicago

Chicago skylines with smog, left, and with clean air, right (Left photo © Kirn Vintage Stock/Alamy. Right photo © M. Spencer Green/AP Images)
Chicago, Illinois, in 1945, left, and in 2013, right (Left photo © Kirn Vintage Stock/Alamy. Right photo © M. Spencer Green/AP Images)

Local tech initiatives such as the Array of Things (AoT) are helping the city improve its air quality by using sensors on light posts throughout the city to collect vital data on the environment. This project, which started in 2016, has been collecting data on a scale not seen before in the city. Chicago also has created the Pollution Prevention Unit to reduce emissions, and the Respiratory Health Association is working with local partners to increase the use of electric vehicles and renewable energy.

Los Angeles

Los Angeles with smog, left, and with clean air revealing the San Gabriel Mountains, right (Both images © Nick Ut/AP Images)
A pall of smog over Los Angeles in 1978 (left). Snow-capped San Gabriel Mountains provide a backdrop to the downtown Los Angeles skyline in 2014. (Both images © Nick Ut/AP Images)

Los Angeles has made perhaps the most noticeable change, having been infamous in the 20th century for its high smog levels. New technology, such as solar panels and both hybrid and electric cars, has made construction and energy practices more environmentally friendly. Similarly, new state policies helped California’s carbon emissions to increase by just 4 percent from 1990 to 2010. The city plans to increase zero-emission vehicles by 50 percent and eliminate the use of coal entirely by 2025.

Pittsburgh

Black-and-white photo of smog-covered Pittsburgh and color photo of Pittsburgh with clean air (Left photo © Margaret Bourke-White/The LIFE Picture Collection/Getty Images. Right photo © Clarence Holmes Photography/Alamy)
Pittsburgh at the junction of the Monongahela and Allegheny rivers in 1936, left, and in 2014, right (Left photo © Margaret Bourke-White/The LIFE Picture Collection/Getty Images. Right photo © Clarence Holmes Photography/Alamy)

Once famous for its steel mills, Pittsburgh is now a model city for using new initiatives and technology to create a cleaner environment. People who visit Pittsburgh today can see the Tower at PNC Plaza, a 33-­story office building that surpassed the highest certification requirements in sustainable design from the U.S. Green Building Council. The city plans to utilize self­-driving electric vehicles and install signals and lights that are more environmentally ­friendly. In 2016, Carnegie Mellon University created an app called Smell Pittsburgh, which allows users to report pollutants by their odor and is now being developed across the United States to help other cities.

This article was written by freelance writer Lane Mikula.