介绍“三月疯狂”篮球赛事

来美国留学的人[请参见美国校园生活一瞥]会发现这个时节正是美国大学生甚至全美的球迷热衷于“三月疯狂”(March Madness)的时候。“三月疯狂”指的是全国大学篮球联赛(NCAA)男子甲组(Division 1)篮球锦标赛,赛程从3月中旬持续到4月初。

在这段时间里,上网看球的人太多了,导致因特网网速变慢。2018年的最新统计数据显示,在电视转播球赛期间插播广告的收入高达13.2亿美元。去年有9700万人观看了比赛。

对以下几个问题的解答将帮助你了解这项美国特有的赛事。明年,当你走进美国高校校园后,可能也会高声地为自己的校队加油,直到把嗓子喊哑。

一名篮球选手在赛场上带球突破 (© Jeff Swinger/AP Images)
在3月23日于盐湖城(Salt Lake City)举行的一场NCAA大学男篮比赛中,贡扎加大学队后卫小扎克·诺维尔(Zach Norvell Jr.,23号)带球突破贝勒大学队后卫马凯·梅森(Makai Mason,10号)的防守。(© Jeff Swinger/AP Images)

为何举国狂热?

美国人对自己的母校忠心耿耿。不论是刚入校两个月的新生,还是已经毕业30年的老校友,每个球迷都认为自己的校队是最棒的,定能夺冠。

这一系列赛事激动人心。与职业篮球联赛相比,大学篮球锦标赛场次较少,赛程更加紧凑,每场比赛都事关重大。即使球迷所效忠的校队没能打入锦标赛,他们也依然会继续观看比赛。因为吸引他们的是大学篮球运动员为学校拼搏的精神以及他们对篮球运动的热爱,大学球员不像职业球员那样只看重金钱。

哪些球队上场参赛?

参加大学篮球男子甲组锦标赛的校队有300多支。在“周日遴选日”(Selection Sunday)——今年是3月17日——一个委员会将公布参加男子分组比赛的68支球队的名单,英文叫“bracket”,就是分组比赛图示。(有60支球队直接入选,还有8支球队将参加初赛,争得进入64强的另外4个席位)。还有一个委员会将宣布参加女子分组比赛的64支球队的名单。[请见男子分组图表女子分组图表]

在男子和女子锦标赛中,各有32支球队因在各自的联盟赛中胜出而入选。(每个联盟包括大致处于同一个地理区域的一组院校。)遴选委员会根据赛季成绩及赛事难度选定剩余的36支球队,并将所有参赛队分成四个区。

每个区最强的球队被冠以“第一种子队”,第二强队为“第二种子队”,依此类推。在锦标赛第一轮比赛中,“第一种子队”对阵“第十六种子队”,“第二种子队”对阵“第十五种子队”。也就是说,最强的球队对阵最弱的球队。在锦标赛最初几轮比赛中,排名居中的球队之间的比赛更加势均力敌。

一名女子篮球选手在球场上兴奋得高高跳起(© Ron Schwane/AP Images)
圣母大学队球员欧冈波瓦雷(Arike Ogunbowale)在2018年NCAA大学女子篮球半决赛中对阵康涅狄格大学队的加时赛上投中决胜的一球后兴奋得高高跳起。(© Ron Schwane/AP Images)

哪支球队可能取胜?

这正是“三月疯狂”如此引人注目的另一个原因:结果如何谁也说不准。

今春男子锦标赛的一流强队——杜克大学(Duke University)和北卡罗来纳大学教堂山分校(University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)——都是老牌强队,都曾有过夺冠的佳绩。弗吉尼亚大学(University of Virginia)和贡扎加大学(Gonzaga University) 今年均在最强种子队之列,曾有过出色的表现,但从未在“三月疯狂”赛事中夺冠。 “三月疯狂”的悬念在于所谓的“灰姑娘”球队,即那些名不见经传却能出人意料地以弱克强的球队。

去年,第11号种子芝加哥洛约拉大学(Loyola University Chicago)男子篮球队一路过关斩将,闯进四强。头号种子弗吉尼亚大学队在第一轮比赛中输给第16号种子马里兰大学巴尔的摩县分校(University of Maryland, Baltimore County),令人大跌眼镜,成为有史以来绝无仅有的一次。 今年,男队中的12号种子俄勒冈大学队(University of Oregon) 有望在“三月疯狂”中逆袭成功、扳倒强队,成为“搅局队”(bracket buster)。与此同时,今年的头号种子杜克大学队虽被很多人看好夺冠,却在第二轮比赛中险些输给9号种子中佛罗里达大学队(University of Central Florida)。换句话说,比赛中什么事都有可能发生。

在女篮赛事中,前四支种子队是路易斯维尔大学红雀队(University of Louisville Cardinals)、圣母大学爱尔兰战士队(University of Notre Dame Fighting Irish)、贝勒大学熊夫人队(Baylor University Lady Bears)和密西西比州立大学斗牛犬队(Mississippi State Bulldogs) 。被看好的黑马球队包括印第安纳大学山地人队(Indiana University Hoosiers)、贝尔蒙特大学棕熊队(Belmont University Bruins )和密苏里州立大学熊夫人队(Missouri State University Lady Bears)。

请关注ShareAmerica了解准备留学美国以及在美国留学的过程中获得最大收获的信息。

自由撰稿人Lane Mikula参与撰写本文。

本文的部分内容曾刊载于2018年3月13日。

March Madness explained

If you come to study in the U.S., you’ll find that this is the time of year when many college students — and Americans from all walks of life — become obsessed with March Madness, the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Basketball Championship. It lasts from mid-March to early April.

Internet speeds slow during March Madness because so many people are watching games online. The most recent data from 2018 shows advertising revenues for televised games were $1.32 billion. Last year, 97 million people watched the tournament.

The answers to the following questions will help you make sense of this peculiarly American event. And next year, if you’re on a U.S. campus, you just might be screaming yourself hoarse cheering for your team.

A basketball player dribbling past another on the court (© Jeff Swinger/AP Images)
Gonzaga guard Zach Norvell Jr. (23) dribbles past Baylor guard Makai Mason (10) during the second-round game in the NCAA men’s college basketball tournament on March 23 in Salt Lake City. (© Jeff Swinger/AP Images)

Why is it so popular?

People in the U.S. are incredibly loyal to their colleges and universities. Whether someone started at a school two months ago or graduated 30 years ago, a fan with that connection is likely to think his or her school’s team is the best and deserves to win it all.

And it’s exciting. Compared to professional basketball, college playoff games are fewer, the stakes are higher, and they take place over a much shorter period of time. So even if a fan’s team doesn’t make the tournament, he or she will watch. Viewers are drawn to the fact that college players aren’t playing for money like professional athletes, but for their schools and for the love of the game.

Who gets to play?

More than 300 college teams play in NCAA Division 1. On “Selection Sunday” — which was March 17 this year — a committee announces the 68 teams that will compete in the men’s bracket, a tree diagram of the tournament games. (Sixty teams qualify outright, while eight teams play each other for the other four slots in preliminary matches to set up the final 64.) Another committee announces the 64 teams that will compete in the women’s bracket.

In each case, 32 teams are chosen because they have won their respective conference championships. (A conference is a roughly geographic grouping of colleges.) The selection committee chooses the remaining 36 teams based on their season records and the difficulty of their schedules, then divides the teams into four regions.

The top teams in each region are given the rank of “first seed,” the next four “second seed,” and so on. In the first round of the tournament, a first-seed team plays a 16th-seed team and a second-seed team plays a 15th-seed team. In other words, the best teams play the weakest teams. Teams in the middle will be more evenly matched during the early games of the tournament.

A female basketball player jumping for joy on the court (© Ron Schwane/AP Images)
Notre Dame’s Arike Ogunbowale celebrates after making the game-winning basket during overtime against Connecticut in the semifinals of the 2018 women’s NCAA Final Four college basketball tournament. (© Ron Schwane/AP Images)

Who’s likely to win?

This is the second part of why March Madness is so popular: Even experts find it hard to predict who will win.

Two of this spring’s top-ranked men’s teams — Duke University and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill — are familiar contenders with winning basketball histories. The University of Virginia and Gonzaga University are top seeds that have had strong runs but have never won a March Madness championship. But part of the thrill of March Madness is the emergence of the Cinderellas, underdog teams with little history of basketball dominance who win against teams that fans considered invincible.

Last year, the men’s team from Loyola University Chicago was an 11th-seed and advanced all the way to the Final Four. In a huge upset, the Number 1 overall seed, University of Virginia, lost in the first round to the 16th-seed University of Maryland, Baltimore County (the only time that has ever happened in history). This year in the men’s tournament the Number 12-seed University of Oregon is an underdog, a team that might just do well in March Madness and be called a “bracket buster.” Meanwhile, the overall Number 1 seed Duke University, the team that many have predicted to win the tournament this year, nearly lost in the second round to the 9th-seed University of Central Florida. In other words, anything can happen in this tournament.

For the women’s tournament, the top four seeds are the University of Louisville Cardinals, the University of Notre Dame Fighting Irish, the Baylor University Lady Bears, and the Mississippi State Bulldogs. Popular underdogs include the Indiana University Hoosiers and the Missouri State University Lady Bears.

Follow ShareAmerica for information about planning for and getting the most out of a U.S. education.

Freelancer Lane Mikula contributed to this article.

A version of this article was previously published on March 13, 2018.