美国伊朗事务特别代表布莱恩·胡克(Brian Hook)最近对从巴拿马、德国到新加坡的世界各地国家加入美国的努力,阻止伊朗政权获取资源扩大其全球恐怖主义势力的情况作了概述。

胡克说,“我们的制裁正在使伊朗用来支持其代理势力的资源日益缩减,[伊朗]很长时间以来第一次不再有那么多收入渠道,供其散布恐怖主义和好战主义。”

胡克指出,已被美国定为恐怖主义组织的伊斯兰革命卫队(Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps)控制着伊朗二分之一的经济,使之可以轻易将对国内的投资转用于在海外散布恐怖。随着许多公司拒绝与伊朗打交道——从而不再提供亿万美元投资资金,伊斯兰革命卫队失去了它在世界策划恐怖活动和通过其在也门、伊拉克、叙利亚和黎巴嫩的代理势力延续地区冲突所需要的现金。

欧盟及个体国家采取的抵制伊朗行动(State Dept.) (Photo: © Majid Asgaripour/Mehr News Agency/AP Images)
(State Dept.)

胡克说,“我们坚信,我们对伊朗带来的威胁的共同判断,将继续转化为更多的共同行动”。他说(英文),“美国在对抗伊朗恶毒行为方面不是单枪匹马行动。我们对所有这些国家表示感谢”。

U.S. Special Representative for Iran Brian Hook recently summarized how countries around the world — from Panama to Germany to Singapore — have joined the U.S. in depriving the Iranian regime of resources to further its global terrorist campaign.

“Our sanctions are draining Iran’s support to its proxies, and for the first time in a very long time, [Iran has] less access to revenue to spread terror and militancy,” said Hook.

The Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC), which the United States has designated as a terrorist organization, controls half of Iran’s economy, said Hook, making it easy for the IRGC to divert funds from domestic investment to spread terror abroad. As companies refuse to do business with Iran — taking billions of investment dollars with them — the IRGC loses the cash it needs to plot terror around the world and prolong regional conflicts through its proxies in Yemen, Iraq, Syria and Lebanon.

Actions the EU and individual countries have taken against Iran (State Dept.) (Photo: © Majid Asgaripour/Mehr News Agency/AP Images)
(State Dept.)

“We are confident that our shared assessment of the threat from Iran will continue to translate into even more shared action,” Hook said. “America has not acted alone to counter Iran’s malign behavior,” he said. “We thank each of these nations.”