纽约股票交易所迎来非洲第一个“独角兽”

4月12日,纽约股票交易所(New York Stock Exchange)迎来非洲第一个公开上市交易的高科技初创企业,尼日利亚网上购物平台Jumia。

2013年,该公司成为非洲的第一个“独角兽”,即估值10亿美元以上的高科技初创企业,成为当时的头条新闻。

Jumia是一个数字市场平台,在非洲大陆14个国家经营业务,有针对性地在有关国家建立网站,实际经营的商家达81,000个,出售从电视到肥皂等各类商品。2018年最热门的商品包括智能手机和鞋类制品。

该公司于2012年创建,在非洲撒哈拉以南(sub-Saharan)地区交通不便的区域从事投递商品的业务。在这个领域,从事电子商务的大公司尚未涉足。此后该公司发展迅速,声誉鹊起。

尽管公司2018年的营收上升了39%,但是在新市场拓展业务需要承担额外的成本,这意味着Jumia尚未能向每年盈利的方向转化。正是因为这个原因,该公司加入了纽约股票交易所。

Man holding a parcel while seated on a motorbike (© Jumia)
Jumia 对电子商务采取独特的非洲经营方式,投递的大多数商品由摩托车送达。 (© Jumia)

如果你能在这里成功

公司如果希望上市,无法找到比纽约股票交易所更大的平台。纽约股票交易所有2,300个上市公司,总资本达27.3万亿美元。由于纽约股票交易所的规模及其多样性,90%在美国上市的外国公司选择在纽约股票交易所上市。

纽约股票交易所国际资本市场部门负责人艾利克斯·易卜拉欣(Alex Ibrahim)认为,各上市公司都希望采取纽约股票交易所的操作方式完成交易,即通过指定的坐市商以人工的方式执行,不愿采取计算机算法从事交易。

Image of Jumia listed on the NYSE trading board (State Dept./ L. Rawls)
(State Dept./ L. Rawls)

他说,“你如果将我们执行操作的方式与我们的竞争对手进行比较,就会发现市场的质量更好,波动性较低,可获得更多的流动性和深度,对于公司来说很具有吸引力。”

他还说,公司可以通过纽约股票交易所开始和闭市的钟声大展风采,这也是交易所成员的一种优惠待遇。4月12日,Jumia的联合创始人受邀敲响开市的钟声,对他们将非洲高科技企业引进全球市场表示祝贺。

他说,“Jumia成为在世界这个地区投资的代表,因为我们在美国市场还没有任何其他类似Jumia的产品。现在即使远在奥克拉荷马州(Oklahoma)的约翰(John)和玛丽(Mary)也能从事Jumia的交易。”

New York Stock Exchange welcomes Africa’s first ‘unicorn’

Nigerian-based online retailer Jumia became the first African tech startup to be publicly traded on the New York Stock Exchange on April 12.

The company made headlines in 2013 for becoming Africa’s first ‘unicorn,’ tech-industry parlance for a startup valued at $1 billion or more.

Jumia is a digital marketplace active in 14 countries on the African continent. Its country-specific sites host products for 81,000 active merchants, selling everything from televisions to soap. Top-selling items in 2018 included smartphones and footwear.

The company has grown popular since launching in 2012 by delivering orders to hard-to-reach locations in sub-Saharan Africa — something the bigger players in e-commerce have yet to do.

The extra cost of forging ahead in a new market means that Jumia has yet to turn an annual profit, despite revenue growing by 39 percent in 2018. This is one reason why Jumia has joined the New York Stock Exchange.

Man holding a parcel while seated on a motorbike (© Jumia)
Jumia has devised an African approach to e-commerce. Most deliveries are made by motorbike. (© Jumia)

If you can make it there

When a company wants to go public, it cannot go bigger than the New York Stock Exchange. With a portfolio of 2,300 companies representing $27.3 trillion in market capital, the NYSE attracts 90% of foreign companies listed in the U.S. market with its size and diversity.

Alex Ibrahim, head of international capital markets at the NYSE, believes companies prefer the way stocks are traded on the NYSE floor: by actual people (called designated market makers) instead of computer-based algorithms.

Image of Jumia listed on the NYSE trading board (State Dept./ L. Rawls)
(State Dept./ L. Rawls)

“If you look at our execution compared to our competitors — the market quality is better, the volatility is lower, there’s more liquidity and depth. It’s very attractive for companies,” he said. Companies also get a kick out of ringing the NYSE opening and closing bells, privileges reserved for exchange members, he said. Jumia’s co-founders were invited to ring the exchange’s opening bell on April 12, in honor of their bringing Africa’s startup tech industry to the global marketplace.

“Jumia will serve as a proxy to invest in this part of the world, because we don’t have any other product similar to Jumia in the U.S. market,” Ibrahim said. “Now, even John and Mary in Oklahoma can trade in Jumia.”