The Organization of American States (OAS) has been advocating for democracy in the Western Hemisphere for 72 years. Founded on April 30, 1948, the OAS is one of the largest multilateral organizations in the Americas.

According to its charter, the OAS was created to function for the countries in the region as “an order of peace and justice, to promote their solidarity, to strengthen their collaboration, and to defend their sovereignty, their territorial integrity, and their independence.”

Today, 34 member states continue to convene to promote these interests for all nations across the region.

“The United States will continue to work with our partners at the OAS to promote and defend democracy, human rights, security, and economic prosperity for the people of the Americas,” Secretary of State Michael R. Pompeo said on March 20 when the OAS re-elected Luis Almagro for a second term as the OAS president.