国务卿蓬佩奥指出很多国家都以智利为榜样 [附信息图]

Two seated men talking (© Rodrigo Garrido/Reuters)
4月12日,美国国务卿迈克·蓬佩奥(Mike Pompeo)(左)与智利总统塞瓦斯蒂安·皮涅拉(Sebastián Piñera)在智利圣地亚哥(Santiago)会晤。(© Rodrigo Garrido/Reuters)

美国国务卿迈克·蓬佩奥(Mike Pompeo)在对智利、巴拉圭、秘鲁和哥伦比亚等拉美国家访问的第4天强调,智利自1990年完成向民主制度的和平过渡并实行自由市场和资本主义以来已出现惊人的变化。

智利通过发展友好和透明的投资环境,使经济获得强劲和稳定的表现。智利取得令人赞叹的增长以开放贸易为支撑。智利通过与总计占世界国民生产总值85%的各经济体达成的协议促进贸易。

4月12日,国务卿蓬佩奥向智利工商界和政府领导人发表讲话指出,智利的贫困率从2000年的36%降低到现在的9%以下,成绩高于任何其他拉美国家。

走上拉美成功之路

国务卿蓬佩奥指出,这个大洲的很多国家都以智利为榜样。美国在拉丁美洲坚持民主和自由市场的伙伴们经历的繁荣,与目前仍然处于军人专制统治下的国家形成鲜明的对比,特别是委内瑞拉

 

(State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)

国务卿蓬佩奥说,拉丁美洲各地政府纷纷以资本主义取代失败的社会主义,以透明和法治取代腐败,建立了可持续千秋万代生机勃勃的经济体系。

他说,“你们应该知道,美国永远是你们的后盾。”

Pompeo: Many countries are following Chile’s example [infographic]

Two seated men talking (© Rodrigo Garrido/Reuters)
Secretary of State Mike Pompeo (left) with Chile's President Sebastián Piñera in Santiago, Chile, on April 12. (© Rodrigo Garrido/Reuters)

On his four-day Latin America trip to Chile, Paraguay, Peru and Colombia, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo emphasized the remarkable changes experienced by Chile since its peaceful transition to a democracy in 1990.

Chile has achieved strong and stable economic performance by developing a welcoming and transparent investment climate. Chile’s remarkable growth is underpinned by an openness to trade it has promoted through agreements with economies representing 85% of the world’s gross domestic product.

Chile has “reduced poverty more than any other Latin American nation, from 36% in the year 2000 to less than 9% today,” Pompeo told an audience of Chilean businesspeople and government leaders on April 12.

Choosing the path to success in Latin America

“Many countries on this continent are following Chile’s example,” Pompeo pointed out, emphasizing the prosperity experienced by U.S. partners in Latin America that embrace democracy and free markets in contrast to those still under authoritarian regimes, especially Venezuela.

Chart contrasting Venezuela and Chile (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)
(State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)

As governments across Latin America replace failed socialist models with capitalism and embrace transparency and the rule of law over corruption, said Pompeo, they create dynamic economic systems that will last for generations.

“You should know that the United States will stand behind you,” he said.