美国成为全世界最大的能源生产国意味着什么?
3月12日,美国国务卿迈克·蓬佩奥(Mike Pompeo)在德克萨斯州(Texas)举行的能源会议上发表讲话指出,“我们丰富的石油供应使我们能够帮助我们的朋友保障能源的多样化。”

他说,“我们不想让我们的欧洲盟友通过北溪天然气管道II(NordStream II)工程依赖俄罗斯的天然气供应,正如我们不再希望依靠委内瑞拉获得石油供应一样。”他指的是俄罗斯拟在欧洲建造的天然气管道。

蓬佩奥表示,美国的技术和自由企业精神使美国转变成全世界首屈一指的石油生产国。仅数十年前,美国仍然需要进口60%的石油。美国还生产产量创最高纪录的天然气

国务卿蓬佩奥在剑桥能源研究协会(Cambridge Energy Research Associates)在休士顿(Houston)举行的会议上表示, “现在我们的榜样很重要,坦白地说,在大国对抗和竞争的时代尤其如此,因为在这个时期某些国家利用自己的能源从事恶劣的勾当,并非如同我们在西方采取的方式促进繁荣。”

伙伴的重要性

蓬佩奥强调,美国希望各国能够获得自已拥有的能源,建立伙伴关系。“我们希望透明的交易,不造成债务陷阱。”

国务卿蓬佩奥指出,中国在发展中国家进行投资的时候,往往输出本国的劳工,为中国工人创造工作机会,而不是为当地经济谋福利,并且导致有关政府欠下无法承担的贷款,

“与[美国]交易比与俄罗斯、中国或伊朗交易更有利。” — 国务卿迈克·蓬佩奥

国务卿蓬佩奥说,俄罗斯和伊朗历来以能源为政治工具,利用自己的天然气和石油供应对邻国施加影响。

国务卿蓬佩奥指出,美国是一个可靠的安全的能源伙伴,愿为世界各地的经济和社会促进投资和最佳实践。

国务卿蓬佩奥说,“我们不仅出口美国能源,而且向我们的朋友和伙伴介绍我们的商业价值体系。”

他说,“我始终推崇美国公司带给他们的高水平的透明、负责任的融资和坚持法治的精神。”他还表示,美国工商业以此著称于世。

What does it mean for the world now that the United States is one of the largest producers of energy?

“Our plentiful oil supplies allow us to help our friends secure diversity for their energy resources,” Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said March 12 at an energy conference in Texas.

“We don’t want our European allies hooked on Russian gas through the NordStream II project any more than we ourselves want to depend on Venezuela for our oil supplies,” he said, referring to a proposed Russian gas pipeline in Europe.

Pompeo credited U.S. technology and free enterprise for turning the U.S. into the world’s top producer of oil, when only a few decades ago the U.S. was importing 60 percent of its oil. The U.S. also is producing record amounts of natural gas.

“Our model matters now, frankly, more than ever in an era of great power rivalry and competition where some nations are using their energy for malign ends,” Pompeo said at the Cambridge Energy Research Associates’ (CERA) energy conference in Houston.

Partners matter

Pompeo said the U.S. wants countries to have access to their own energy and to create partnerships. “We want transparent transactions, not debt traps,” he said.

The secretary noted that when Chinese companies invest in developing nations “they often ship in their own labor, creating jobs for Chinese workers rather than for those in the local economy” and leave the government with unaffordable loans.

“[The United States is] simply better to do business with than Russia, China, or Iran.”  — Secretary of State Mike Pompeo

Russia and Iran have a history of using energy as a political tool and have used their supplies of natural gas and oil as leverage over their neighbors, the secretary said.

Pompeo described the United States as a reliable, secure energy partner that will promote investment and best practices in economies and societies around the world.

“We’re not just exporting American energy, we’re exporting our commercial value system to our friends and to our partners,” Pompeo said.

“I have been touting the high standards of transparency, responsible financing, and adherence to the rule of law that American companies bring along with them,” he said, adding that it’s “what American businesses are known for.”