语言教学服务近年来遍地开花。在美国,一个叫做NaTakallam (阿拉伯语意思为“我们说”)的平台,如今在利用一个宝贵的资源:难民。难民中的许多人有很好的教育背景,也非常愿意教授他们的语言。

Aline Sara speaking into microphone (Courtesy of Aline Sara)
艾琳·萨拉 (Courtesy of Aline Sara)

NaTakallam的共同创始人形容这个平台是一个社会企业,既为难民和接纳他们的社区提供帮助——让他们有机会从事辅导、教学、翻译和文化交流并从中得到收入,也让有需要的客户通过付费得到服务。

NaTakallam的共同创始人之一是艾琳·萨拉(Aline Sara),她是黎巴嫩裔的纽约人,在2015年创办这个平台时刚刚获得硕士学位。另一位创始人是她的原同班同学、父母来自伊朗的法国人礼萨·拉赫内马(Reza Rahnema)。此前,萨拉有过寻找私人教师辅导她学习阿拉伯口语的经历。此外,她知道,逃离内战的叙利亚难民正在涌入黎巴嫩,但是却难以在那里获得工作许可。

萨拉和拉赫内马注意到了这种双向需要,于是利用互联网创办起面向全球的网上语言服务。现在使用他们平台服务的既有学语言的个人,也有一些机构和组织,其中包括美国各地200所中小学。萨拉说,这些学校里年龄最小的5岁孩子都能够听到难民的故事。

萨拉说,“我们的难民和在接纳社区中的辅导员及翻译大多数都是在中东、欧洲、非洲和拉丁美洲”。NaTakallam的提供的语言服务不仅有多种阿拉伯方言,而且还包括亚美尼亚语、库尔德语、波斯语、西班牙语、法语和英语。

虽然NaTakallam并不是唯一一个帮助难民获得收入的企业——例如,总部设在西雅图(Seattle)的连锁咖啡店星巴克(Starbucks)宣布要在2022年以前雇用1万名难民,但是,像NaTakallam这样几乎完全聘用难民的企业相当少见。(另一个聘用难民提供语言服务的英国初创企业Chatterbox最近启动。)

自从5年半前开始运作以来,NaTakallam向全球200多名雇员发工资达100多万美元。萨拉说,有太多机构把难民视为被动接受援助的人,而她的公司将他们视为“对社会和经济大有贡献的积极成员”。

建立沟通桥梁

Ghaith Alhallak (Courtesy of Ghaith Alhallak)
盖斯·阿尔哈拉克 (Courtesy of Ghaith Alhallak)

NaTakallam聘用的辅导员之一盖斯·阿尔哈拉克(Ghaith Alhallak)是叙利亚人,过去是位新闻工作者。如今,他在意大利的帕多瓦大学(University of Padova)攻读政治学,课余时间教授阿拉伯语。

阿尔哈拉克说,他既掌握正规的标准阿拉伯语,也在记者生涯中学会了多种方言。自从在NaTakallam工作后,他教过来自至少18个国家的学生,许多学生在学习阿拉伯语的同时,也有兴趣了解叙利亚的文化。他帮助学生们不仅了解到难民的经历,而且也认识到叙利亚人在因内战而流离失所之前如何生活。

阿尔哈拉克说,这份工作的宝贵特点之一是,他也从学生那里了解到他们的生活。

Language-instruction services have proliferated in recent years. And now, in the United States, a platform called NaTakallam (“we speak” in Arabic) has tapped into a valuable resource: refugees, many of whom are well educated and eager to teach their native languages.

Aline Sara speaking into microphone (Courtesy of Aline Sara)
Aline Sara (Courtesy of Aline Sara)

NaTakallam’s co-founder describes it as a social enterprise that helps refugees and their host communities by providing income — for tutoring, teaching, translating and offering cultural exchange opportunities — and clients who need and pay for these services.

NaTakallam was co-founded in 2015 by Aline Sara, a New Yorker of Lebanese origin who had just completed her master’s degree, and her former classmate Reza Rahnema, a Frenchman born to Iranian parents. Sara had been looking for a tutor to help her with conversational Arabic. Meanwhile, she knew that Syrians who fled their country’s civil war were pouring into neighboring Lebanon but were having trouble getting work permits there.

Noting complementary needs, Sara and Rahnema leveraged the internet to provide online language services worldwide. The service is used by individual learners and by organizations, including 200 elementary and secondary schools across the U.S. Children as young as age 5 at these schools are able to hear the stories of refugees, Sara said.

“Our refugee and host-community tutors and translators are mostly based in the Middle East, Europe, Africa and Latin America,” Sara said. NaTakallam offers language services in Armenian, Kurdish, Persian, Spanish, French and English, in addition to Arabic in multiple dialects.

While NaTakallam isn’t the only business that helps refugees earn an income — Starbucks, the Seattle-based chain of coffeehouses, announced its commitment to hiring 10,000 refugees by 2022, for example — it’s one of the few ventures whose workforce is almost entirely refugees. (The U.K.-based startup Chatterbox, which also hires refugees to provide language services, was launched recently.)

Since its inception 5 1/2 years ago, NaTakallam has distributed more than $1 million in income to over 200 workers worldwide. Sara said too many organizations see refugees as passive recipients of aid, but her enterprise sees them as “active agents of society and the economy who have much to offer.”

Building bridges

Ghaith Alhallak (Courtesy of Ghaith Alhallak)
Ghaith Alhallak (Courtesy of Ghaith Alhallak)

One of NaTakallam’s tutors, Ghaith Alhallak, is a native of Syria and a former journalist. Today, he studies political science at the University of Padova in Italy and teaches Arabic when he’s not busy with his own coursework.

Alhallak said he combined his knowledge of formal Arabic with the various dialects he learned as a journalist. Since joining NaTakallam, he has taught students from more than 18 countries. Many have been interested in learning about his culture while they master Arabic. He helps them understand not only refugee life, but also how Syrians lived before their displacement by civil war.

Alhallak said one of the perks of his job is that he learns from his students about their lives, too.