缅怀曾为建造一所大学学府而劳作的奴工

绿树葱葱的校园中的一座圆形纪念园(© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)
俯瞰弗吉尼亚大学的受奴役劳工纪念园(© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)

弗吉尼亚大学(University of Virginia)承认其作为一所学府,曾经有过4000名奴隶来建造及维护校园设施的历史,并建成了一座缅怀他们的纪念园。

弗吉尼亚大学的受奴役劳工纪念园(Memorial to Enslaved Laborers)纪念那些在该校于1817年破土动工到1865年南北战争(Civil War)终结奴隶制期间被迫在那里生活和劳作的男女老少。该校由学生主导的创设纪念园的活动得到了弗吉尼亚州(Virginia)夏洛茨维尔(Charlottesville)周边社区以及受奴役劳工的后人的参与。

黄昏中圆形纪念园中被灯光照亮的通道(© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)
弗吉尼亚大学的受奴役劳工纪念园(© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)

在该校修建及早期维护期间,受奴役的劳工做过各种活计,其中包括开辟土地、搬运及切割采掘的石材、劈砍及堆放木材,以及烧饭并为学生和教师做其他日常活计。由于史料没有记载他们的姓名,这座纪念园列出了他们的工种和家庭关系,不过也列明了像当过厨子的伊萨贝拉·吉本斯(Isabella Gibbons)等一些有名有姓的劳工。

纪念园中铭刻的姓名和描述文字(© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)
受奴役劳工纪念园中列明了不知姓名的奴隶的工种和家庭关系(© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)

美国第三任总统及《独立宣言》(Declaration of Independence)的起草者托马斯·杰斐逊(Thomas Jefferson)是弗吉尼亚大学的创建者和设计者。据《纽约时报》(New York Times)报道,该校曾有过一些受奴役的劳工,并从当地的奴隶主那里租用过一些奴工,其中至少有一人是杰斐逊本人所有的。

这座纪念园坐落在弗吉尼亚大学的中心地标圆顶大厅(Rotunda)附近,就在学生们经常走过的道路旁边。

Aerial view of circular memorial on tree-filled campus with mountains in background (© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)
Aerial view of the new Memorial to Enslaved Laborers at the University of Virginia (© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)

The University of Virginia, acknowledging its past as an institution that enslaved 4,000 people to build and maintain its grounds, has unveiled a memorial to honor them.

Its Memorial to Enslaved Laborers recognizes the men, women and children forced to live and work at the school between 1817, when the school’s construction began, and 1865, when the Civil War ended slavery. Student-led efforts at the university to create the memorial  involved the surrounding Charlottesville, Virginia, community and the descendants of enslaved workers.

View of walkway with embedded lights in circular monument at dusk (© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)
The Memorial to Enslaved Laborers at the University of Virginia (© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)

During construction and early maintenance of the school, enslaved workers performed a variety of duties, including clearing land, transporting and carving quarried stone, chopping and stacking wood, and cooking and doing other daily chores for students and professors. Because records do not list many of their names, the memorial lists their jobs and family relationships, although some, such as Isabella Gibbons, a cook, are listed.

Close-up view of names and characterizations inscribed in monument (© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)
Close-up view of the Memorial to Enslaved Laborers. It lists the enslaved by their jobs and family ties when their names are unknown. (© Sanjay Michael Suchak/UVA Today)

Thomas Jefferson, the third president of the United States and author of the Declaration of Independence, founded and designed the University of Virginia. While the university owned some of the enslaved workers, others were rented from local slaveholders and at least one belonged to Jefferson himself, according to the New York Times.

The memorial sits in close proximity to the university’s central feature, the Rotunda, and along a pathway frequented by students.