Donald Trump will be sworn in as the 45th president of the United States on January 20. As he takes the oath of office, it will be in front a backdrop of five flags. Here’s what the flags represent.

Graphic illustration explaining significance of different U.S. flags on display in front of the U.S. Capitol building for presidential inauguration (State Dept./Sara Gemeny Wilkinson)
(State Dept./Sara Gemeny Wilkinson)