科技促使美国制造业转型

(© Shutterstock)
(© Shutterstock)

马林钢丝产品公司(Marlin Steel Wire Products)的员工手工制作全部钢丝篮长达几十年。如今,他们操作着使生产流程自动化的高科技机械。这种转型使马林公司能够生产新产品,并将销量提高到1999年的八倍。

马林公司总裁德鲁·格林布拉特(Drew Greenblatt)说:“自动化至关重要。世界要求达到高质及精确。”他说,制造商都知道,有了适当的工具,他们就能提供市场所需的商品。

马林公司是美国向智能生产转型的一个实例,在生产中采用机器人和自动化。智能工厂正在进行更多的创新,并雇佣更多的高技能员工。

研究全球制造业的经济转型的波士顿咨询公司(Boston Consulting Group)的一位总监贾斯汀·罗斯(Justin Rose)说:“创新驱动生产力。全国已进行了极大的创新,既开发了可供生产的价值更高的产品,又开创了制造它们的更高效的生产流程和技术。”

根据美国劳工统计局(U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)的数据,美国的制造业产出在过去30年中几乎翻番。

显示美国制造业产出增长的曲线图(State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)格林布拉特说,在马林公司,利用先进的生产流程每小时能弯曲钢丝25000次,而手工操作每小时只能弯曲300次。此外,先进的生产流程是安全而且极其精确的。

马林公司雇佣的员工现在花更多的时间来设计只能靠自动化制造的产品。格林布拉特说:“我们的团队有20%是[有大学文凭的]工程师,他们提供新颖的创新,已有五项专利而且还会增加。”

国家制造科学中心(National Center for Manufacturing Sciences)总裁利萨·斯特拉马(Lisa Strama)表示,随着更多的美国公司采纳智能生产流程,产出将只会增长。她说:“我看到在美国国内正在进行的从竞争力角度而言极有创新性的努力。产业界、学术界以及政府正在共同合作,开发这些超越局限的技术。”

推进自动化协会(Association for Advancing Automation)主席杰夫·伯恩斯坦恩(Jeff Burnstein)指出,美国继续在开发系统整合工具、人工智能、虚拟现实和机器学习领域中引领世界,所有这些领域都在为制造业的发展贡献力量。

美国的初创企业正在开发智能生产工具。例如,设在马里兰州(Maryland)的坦普·艾伦工业公司(Temple Allen Industries)生产供智能工厂使用的砂磨设备。坦普·艾伦公司的总经理西尔·布莱恩(Cele Bryan)说:“通过让砂磨对于美国工人更加安全和高效,我们使砂磨产业能够留在美国。”

伯恩斯坦恩说:“今天在美国建造的大多数新设施都在采用某种智能生产技术。如果我们想去竞争,我们就必须采纳这些技术。越来越多的公司正在认识到这一点。”

本文由自由撰稿人Linda Wang撰写。专职撰稿人Emily Bowman参与了本文的撰写。

Technology is transforming U.S. manufacturing

Robots manufacturing cars on assembly line (© Shutterstock)
(© Shutterstock)

For decades, Marlin Steel Wire Products’ workers crafted every wire basket they made by hand. Today they operate high-tech machinery that automates the process. The shift has allowed Marlin Steel to make new products and boost sales eightfold since 1999.

“Automation is critical,” said Drew Greenblatt, Marlin Steel’s president. “The world demands high quality and precision.” He said manufacturers have learned that with the right tools, they can deliver goods that markets demand.

Marlin Steel is part of a shift in the U.S. toward smart manufacturing, which incorporates robotics and automation. Smart factories are innovating more and hiring more highly skilled employees.

“Innovation drives productivity. And the country has innovated dramatically, both by developing higher-value products to make and by creating more efficient manufacturing processes and techniques to make them,” said Justin Rose, a managing director at Boston Consulting Group, which studies the shifting economics of global manufacturing.

Over the past 30 years, manufacturing output in the U.S. has almost doubled, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Graph showing growth in U.S. manufacturing output (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)Greenblatt said that at Marlin Steel, advanced processes bend steel wires 25,000 times an hour, compared to 300 bends per hour when done by hand. Furthermore, the work is safe and extremely precise.

Marlin Steel employs workers who now spend more time designing products that can only be created with automation. “Twenty percent of our team are engineers [with college degrees] who provide novel innovations — five patents and counting,” Greenblatt said.

Lisa Strama, president of the National Center for Manufacturing Sciences, said that as more U.S. companies adopt smart manufacturing processes, output will only grow. “I see a lot of very innovative work that’s going on within the U.S. from a competitiveness perspective,” she said. “Industry, academia and government are partnering together and producing these technologies that push the boundaries.”

Jeff Burnstein, president of the Association for Advancing Automation, points out that the U.S. continues to lead the world in development of systems-integration tools, artificial intelligence, virtual reality and machine learning, all of which contribute to improvements in manufacturing.

U.S. startups are developing tools for smart manufacturing. Maryland-based Temple Allen Industries, for example, produces sanding equipment that is used in smart factories. “By making sanding safer and more efficient for American workers, we’ve enabled the sanding work to stay in the U.S.,” said Cele Bryan, general manager of Temple Allen.

“Most new facilities being built today in the U.S. are adopting some form of smart manufacturing technologies,” Burnstein said. “If we are going to compete, we’re going to have to adopt these technologies. More and more companies recognize that.”

This article is by freelance writer Linda Wang. Staff writer Emily Bowman contributed.