土耳其外交部严厉谴责中国政府侵犯新疆维吾尔自治区维吾尔族突厥人及其他穆斯林群体的基本人权。

土耳其指出,中国政府在21世纪对维吾尔人、哈萨克族和其他穆斯林少数群体“重新设立拘留营,一贯采取同化政策,是对人类造成的极大的羞辱”。

据报道,维吾尔族诗人和民俗音乐家阿卜都熱衣木·艾衣提(Abdurehim Heyit)在中国的拘留营丧生。为此,土耳其在2月9日发表上述声明。有关的指控尚未得到证实。

自由亚洲电台(Radio Free Asia)报道,阿卜都熱衣木·艾衣提以演奏传统的长颈双弦都塔尔(Dutar)著称,2017年因演奏维吾尔族乐曲被中国当局逮捕。

中国当局在拘留营关押了大批维吾尔人、哈萨克族和其他少数穆斯林群体,人数至少有800,000,也有可能达200多万,阿卜都熱衣木·艾衣提即是其中之一。

有关方面对关押行动提出了多种多样的理由。在某些情况下,警方曾表示,他们关押某些人,仅仅是因为他们前往国外旅行,或者他们有家人在国外。这些拘押人员的原因简直难以理喻。

中国已将新疆宗教活动和文化生活的很多方面列为刑事犯罪。例如,向孩子们讲述穆斯林教义将受到惩罚,另外还禁止父母为自己的孩子取伊斯兰的名字。

Police officer waving arm toward photographer (© Thomas Peter/Reuters)
一名中国警察阻止新闻记者接近新疆某拘留营。 (© Thomas Peter/Reuters)

公民们还可因“不正常”留须,戴盖头和身穿其他正常服装,拒绝观看国营电视节目,拒绝穿短裤,不近烟酒,在莱麦丹(Ramadan)斋月禁食,在星期五之外的日子去清真寺,举行传统葬礼,有家人或朋友在海外,前往国外旅行,拥有宿营设备和规劝他人不宣誓效忠等情况受到拘押。

中国政府坚称,拘留营仅仅用于打击恐怖主义和去极端化的工作。情况表明这些托词属不实之言。新疆的拘留营与其说是为了保护中国,抗击恐怖主义威胁,不如说是以试图削弱在押人员的民族认同、宗教信仰及文化和宗教活动为目标。

2月6日,美国驻联合国经济与社会理事会(Economic and Social Council of the United Nations)代表凯莉·科里(Kelley Currie)出席在华盛顿(Washington)哈德逊研究所(Hudson Institute)举行的一次活动,对中国政府发表的上述和其他“神话”进行了驳斥。

科里指出,中国声称过去20年在新疆建立的拘留营系统属于“人道的职业训练中心”,但无法令人信服。她表示,拘留营幸存者讲述遭受酷刑和虐待的经历驳斥了中国的说词。

土耳其外交部在2月9日的声明中也表示了同样的看法:“100多万被任意逮捕的维吾尔族突厥人在拘留营和监狱中遭受酷刑和政治洗脑的情况已经不再是秘密。”

“我们呼吁国际社会和联合国(United Nations)秘书长(Secretary General)采取有效措施制止新疆发生的这类人道悲剧。”

In a stinging rebuke, Turkey’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs condemned the Chinese government for violating “the fundamental human rights of Uighur Turks and other Muslim communities in the Xinjiang Uighur Autonomous Region.”

Turkey called the Chinese government’s “reintroduction of internment camps in the 21st century and the policy of systematic assimilation” against Uighurs, ethnic Kazakhs and other members of Muslim minority groups “a great shame for humanity.”

Turkey’s February 9 statement was prompted by reports that a Uighur poet and folk musician named Abdurehim Heyit has died in a Chinese internment camp, a claim that has not been confirmed.

Heyit is known for his use of the dutar, a traditional two-stringed, long-necked instrument. Chinese authorities arrested him in 2017 for the performance of a Uighur song, according to a Radio Free Asia report.

Heyit is one of at least 800,000 and possibly more than 2 million Uighurs, ethnic Kazakhs and other Muslim minority groups whom Chinese authorities have detained in internment camps.

The reasons given for detention appear to vary widely; in some cases, police have claimed they are detaining someone merely because they traveled abroad, or because they have family abroad. There appears to be no ability to contest such detention.

China has criminalized many aspects of religious practice and culture in Xinjiang, including punishment for teaching Muslim text to children and a ban on parents giving their children traditional Islamic names.

Police officer waving arm toward photographer (© Thomas Peter/Reuters)
A Chinese police officer stops reporters near a detention center in Xinjiang. (© Thomas Peter/Reuters)

Citizens also can be detained for having “abnormal” beards, wearing headscarves and other modest clothing, refusing to watch state television, refusing to wear shorts, abstaining from alcohol and tobacco, fasting during the holy month of Ramadan, attending mosques on days other than Friday, practicing traditional funeral rituals, having family or friends abroad, traveling abroad oneself, owning camping equipment, and asking others not to swear.

The Chinese government insists the internment camps are only for “anti-terrorism and de­-extremification work” — a claim that has been shown to be false. Rather than seeking to protect China from the threat of terrorism, Xinjiang’s camps appear to be focused on trying to diminish the ethnic identities, religious beliefs, and cultural and religious practices of their detainees.

Kelley Currie, the U.S. representative on the U.N. Economic and Social Council, debunked these and other Chinese government “myths” in a February 6 event at the Hudson Institute in Washington.

China’s claims that the network of internment camps it has built over the past two years in Xinjiang are “humane job-training centers” are not credible, Currie said. She said the stories of torture and abuse from survivors of the internment camps undermine China’s narrative.

Turkey’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs echoed this conclusion in its February 9 statement: “It is no longer a secret that more than one million Uighur Turks incurring arbitrary arrests are subjected to torture and political brainwashing in internment camps and prisons.”

“We call on the international community and the Secretary General of the United Nations to take effective measures in order to bring to an end this human tragedy in Xinjiang.”