到2050年,世界将如何满足全球90亿以上人口的口粮需要?

今年早些时候,美国弗吉尼亚理工学院暨州立大学(Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University [Virginia Tech])动物学专业的16位学者和巴西圣保罗大学(University of São Paulo)的同事在共同举办的研讨会上提出了上述问题。研讨会还探讨了从动物关怀到生产率等一系列议题。

弗吉尼亚理工学院动物及禽类学专业系主任戴维·杰勒德(David Gerrard)说,巴西农民拥有满足世界很大一部分食品需要的巨大潜力

例如,巴西全年气候温和,农民一年可以收获不只一茬玉米,而美国农民只能有夏季一季收成。巴西的养牛数量也已经是美国的一倍。

圣保罗大学动物学系负责人绍洛·达卢斯·埃席尔瓦(Saulo da Luz e Silva)说,美国和巴西均是“世界食品市场上的重要成员”,尤其是肉类。他说,“这种知识的结合将对两国生产体系,进而也对世界,产生重大影响”。

交流研究提高产量

巴西和美国学术人员都十分关心的一个问题是,强烈高温会对肉牛和奶牛产生什么影响。杰勒德说,他们提出的一些重要问题包括:“在环境温度升高的情况下如何生产优质牛肉?”,以及“在户外高温时怎样让动物产奶?”

弗吉尼亚理工学院牛肉营养学专家贝恩·威尔逊(Bain Wilson)说,“我们在美国与牛肉生产商共同处理的与新技术相关和与牛群管理相关的许多问题,与巴西所面临的问题相似”。

弗吉尼亚理工学院的教职人员期待着下一阶段的美国-巴西合作,届时将有圣保罗大学的三名科学家和至少六名研究生到弗吉尼亚理工学院来进行研究深造。

动物行为和关怀学专家埃里卡·福尔巴彻(Erica Feuerbacher)说,“虽然美国对某些问题的研究走在前面,但巴西在另一些方面领先,所以同他们合作有可能增进两国”的动物关怀工作。

How will the world feed a global population of more than 9 billion people by the year 2050?

That’s one of the questions 16 faculty members from the animal science department of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Virginia Tech) tackled with their counterparts from the University of São Paulo at a symposium earlier this year in Brazil on topics ranging from animal welfare to productivity.

Brazilian farmers have “huge potential” in terms of feeding a good portion of the world, said David Gerrard, the head of the Animal and Poultry Sciences department at Virginia Tech.

Brazil’s year-round warm climate, for example, allows farmers there to produce more than one corn crop a year, while U.S. farmers produce corn once a year in the summer. Brazil also already has twice as many cattle as the U.S.

Saulo da Luz e Silva, head of the University of São Paulo’s animal science department, said that both the U.S. and Brazil “are great players in the world market of food,” specifically meat. “The union of this knowledge will have an important impact for the productive systems of both countries and, consequently, for the world,” he said.

Sharing research to improve productivity

One important concern of both the Brazilian and the American academics is how heat stress affects the productivity of beef and dairy cattle. They asked important questions such as “How do you produce high-quality beef in environments where you have some increases in temperature?” and “How do you get animals to milk when it’s hot out?” Gerrard said.

“Many of the issues we face in the U.S. in working with beef producers to address new technologies and strategies for managing their herds are similar to the ones faced in Brazil,” said Bain Wilson, a beef nutrition specialist at Virginia Tech.

The Virginia Tech faculty are looking forward to the next phase of their U.S.-Brazil collaboration as three visiting scientists and at least a half-dozen graduate students head from the University of São Paulo to Virginia Tech to further their research.

“While the U.S. might be further along in addressing some issues, Brazil is further along in others, so being able to collaborate with them could enhance both countries’ work to improve animal welfare,” said Erica Feuerbacher, an animal behavior and welfare specialist.