美国为老挝水坝坍塌遭遇洪灾的民众提供援助

美国国际发展署(U.S. Agency for International Development )经常派遣专家奔赴世界各地因遭受水灾、 地震自然灾害陷入困境的国家,为这些国家提供所需要的帮助,每年出动人员约为65次。7月,他们前往老挝参加救灾。

由于连续遭受大暴雨,老挝东南部阿塔佩省(Attapeu Province)一座水坝于7月23日部分坍塌,导致下游村庄被淹,成千上万的民众失去了家园,估计有27人丧生。


在美国国际发展署的美国海外救灾援助办公室(Office of U.S. Foreign Disaster Assistance)工作的阿尔·德怀尔(Al Dwyer)说,“我们已经奔赴大多数受灾地区的各疏散中心,对灾情进行评估。”

为了防止疾病蔓延,美国国际发展署与联合国儿童基金(United Nations Children’s Fund)一起修复供水站和厕所设施,提供盛水容器和洁水片并发放清洁用品。

德怀尔说,“我们提供的供水和卫生援助恰恰是人们恢复生计所需要的。”

U.S. assists flood victims after Laos dam collapse

Around 65 times a year, disaster experts from the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) rush to assist countries around the world in need of help due to floods, earthquakes or other natural calamities. In July, they headed to Laos.

Following severe rains, a hydroelectric dam partially collapsed in southeastern Laos’ Attapeu Province on July 23, flooding villages below. Thousands of people lost their homes, and an estimated 27 people lost their lives.

https://twitter.com/theOFDA/status/1022917446502690816

“We’ve been to the evacuation centers and have been conducting assessments in the most affected areas,” said Al Dwyer from USAID’s Office of U.S. Foreign Disaster Assistance.

USAID is working with the United Nations Children’s Fund to rehabilitate water points and latrines and to provide water containers and purification tablets, along with hygiene kits, to prevent the spread of disease.

“Our support to water and sanitation assistance is exactly what’s needed to get people back on their feet,” said Dwyer.