美国农民为全世界提供粮食

(State Dept./J. Maruszewski)

美国农民向世界其他地区出口的农产品比美国农业史上以往任何时候都多。

特朗普总统今年早些时候在签署一项旨在促进美国农业并为美国家庭以及“我们在全世界的客户”降低粮食价格的行政命令时指出:“今天,美国农民不仅为我们国家,还为全世界千百万人民提供粮食。”

美国已是全世界第一大粮食及农产品出口国,预期在2017年输出价值近1400亿美元的作物,比2016年增长8%。

这对于美国农民,以及那些进口高质、安全、可靠的美国农产品以为全体人民提供足够粮食的国家而言,都是一个好消息。

美国种植哪些作物

只要开车经过美国中西部地区——伊利诺伊、艾奥瓦、内布拉斯加等几个州——很快就会发现玉米和大豆是美国最常见的农作物,而且是出口创收最高的农作物。

而开车经过堪萨斯、北达科他、蒙大拿和华盛顿州,则会看到麦田遍地。

去过得克萨斯、内布拉斯加和堪萨斯州的人,还会看到这三大养牛州满山遍野的牛群。

美国农业部(U.S. Department of Agriculture)的经济学家布莱斯·库克(Bryce Cooke)说:“美国农业部门极具多样性。美国粮食供给价格合理、品种多样,反映了整个农业部门的生产力和多样性。”

农业出口支持着美国超过100万个农牧业以及作物加工、包装和运输部门的就业机会。

美国农业前景展望

全世界对粮食的需求量预期到2050年将增加60%。为应对这一挑战,美国将制定新的农业措施,建立新市场,并消除不公平的贸易壁垒。

特朗普总统强调了农业创新将如何帮助美国新一代农民为美国及全世界提供粮食。他承诺通过采用“精准农耕”来提高美国农民的技术能力。“精准农耕”是一种农田管理理念,利用卫星、全球定位系统(GPS)和无人机来观察、计量并处理田间作物,以便让同样的耕作面积能为更多的人提供粮食。[请见英文讲话]

(State Dept./J. Maruszewski)

美国农业部长索尼·珀杜(Sonny Perdue)6月陪同总统走访了艾奥瓦州的一所社区学院,他在介绍“精准农耕”的理念时说:“这是利用更少的资源、更少的投入、更少的水源、更少的化肥、更少的杀虫剂和更少的农药,来种植更优质、更健康、更有益的作物。”

特朗普总统在此行中对农业专业的学生们说:“如果我们继续培训我们的农民掌握这些新技术,那么我们就将迎来一个美国农业及美国农户繁荣发展的新时代。”

U.S. farmers feed the world

Graphic listing top five U.S. agricultural products (State Dept./J. Maruszewski)
(State Dept./J. Maruszewski)

American farmers are selling more of their crops to the rest of the world than ever before in the history of U.S. agriculture.

“Today, America’s farmers feed not only our nation, but millions of people around the world,” President Trump said earlier this year as he signed an executive order aimed at promoting American agriculture and lowering the cost of food at home and for “our customers around the world.”

The United States — already the world’s top exporter of food and agricultural products — is expected to ship nearly $140 billion in crops in 2017, an 8 percent increase from 2016.

That’s good news for both American farmers and the nations who import high-quality, safe and reliable U.S. agricultural products and so can provide enough food for their entire populations.

What America grows

Anyone driving across the American Midwest — Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska and more — quickly learns that corn and soybeans are the most common crops grown in the United States and generate the highest agricultural export sales.

Drive across the states of Kansas, North Dakota, Montana and Washington and wheat fields dominate the landscape.

And visitors to Texas, Nebraska and Kansas see massive herds of cattle roaming these top three beef-producing states.

“The U.S. agriculture sector is extremely diverse,” said Bryce Cooke, an economist with the U.S. Department of Agriculture. “The affordability and variety of the U.S. food supply reflects the productivity and diversity of the entire agricultural sector.”

Agricultural exports support more than 1 million American jobs in farming and ranching, as well as jobs in processing, packaging and transporting the crops.

Future of American farming

By 2050 the world demand for food is expected to increase by 60 percent. To meet this challenge, the U.S. will devise new agricultural practices, build new markets and remove unfair trade barriers.

President Trump has emphasized how innovations in agriculture will help future generations of American farmers feed the United States and the world. He pledges to advance the technological capabilities of American farmers through the use of “precision agriculture” — a farm-management concept that uses satellites, the global positioning system (GPS) and drones to observe, measure and respond to crops in the field in order to feed more people using the same acreage.

World map showing top recipients of U.S. agricultural exports (State Dept./J. Maruszewski)
(State Dept./J. Maruszewski)

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue, who traveled with the president to an Iowa community college in June, defined precision agriculture this way: “It’s using less resources, less inputs, less water, less fertilizer, less insecticides, less pesticides in order to produce a better, healthier, more wholesome crop.”

On the same trip, Trump told agricultural students that “if we continue to train our workers in these new technologies, then we will usher in a new era of prosperity for American agriculture and for the American farming family.”