美国帮助发展中国家自助自立

Men farming (USAID/Micah Clemens)
美国国际发展署(USAID)帮助科特迪瓦家庭在逃离暴力后返乡恢复农田。(USAID/Micah Clemens)

据经济合作与发展组织(Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)公布的数据,美国是全世界提供对外援助最多的国家,2019年贡献了346亿美元援款。

对外援助用于帮助发展中国家从事应急准备、救灾援助、经济发展和降低贫困等事务。以美国国际发展署(U.S. Agency for International Development)为首,美国有20多个机构参加这类项目的管理。

美国国际发展署通过建立伙伴关系,帮助人们获得技术和能力,逐步实现自助自立。美国国际发展署负责战略关系的专家考希克·阿尔哈(Kaush Arha)说,这种方式强调自由和开放、以创业精神促进发展,建立强健的市场经济,使国家主权和尊严及个人权利都受到高度重视。

他说,这种方式增强了伙伴国家作为国际社会和全球经济受尊敬的成员为巩固治理、机制、规则和结构进行自主努力。

美国的对外援助与某些政府推崇的“债务陷阱”式外交形成鲜明的对此。这些政府提供的贷款条件十分严苛,使债务国很难偿还,导致社区和国家陷入债务循环,在高压下不得不受制于人。一般来说,提供这类贷款的政府还派本国工人参加开发工程,剥夺了接受国工人的工作机会。

与社区携手合作

Two men pointing at boxes marked "USAID" (U.S. Embassy India/Gaurav Dhawan)
美国国际发展署为印度运送100台呼吸机。 (U.S. Embassy India/Gaurav Dhawan)

美国国际发展署的各类项目有助于食品保障和全球健康。这两项目标在COVID-19冠状病毒疫情期间尤其重要。

美国除了提供200多亿美元帮助数十个国家抗击新型冠状病毒以外,最近还按照“未来食品保障”(Feed the Future)计划建立了四个新的伙伴关系。

9月17日,美国国际发展署副署长邦妮·格里克(Bonnie Glick)宣布这些伙伴关系的建立。她强调农业创新对战胜饥馑具有重要意义。格里克说,这些伙伴关系提醒每一个人,美国倡导的是经济繁荣、长寿和健康的生活及人类尊严。

U.S. helps developing countries to help themselves

Five men breaking up farmland with hand tools (USAID/Micah Clemens)
When families from Côte d'Ivoire returned home after fleeing violence, USAID helped them rehabilitate their farmlands. (USAID/Micah Clemens)

The United States is the world’s largest donor of foreign aid, contributing $34.6 billion in 2019, according to figures published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

Foreign aid is given to developing countries to help with emergency preparedness, disaster relief, economic development and poverty reduction. There are over 20 U.S. government agencies that manage such programs, and the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) plays the lead role.

USAID uses partnerships that help people gain the skills and capacity to become increasingly self-reliant. The approach “emphasizes free and open, enterprise-driven development to build resilient market economies where sovereignty of states and the dignity and rights of individuals are valued,” said Kaush Arha, a USAID expert on strategic engagement.

“This reinforces partner nations’ own efforts to strengthen governance, institutions, rules and structures as respected members of the international community and global economy,” he said.

U.S. foreign aid is in contrast to the “debt-trap diplomacy” pursued by some governments. Those governments offer loans under terms so costly that debtor nations struggle to repay. That traps communities and countries in a cycle of debt that can make them vulnerable to undue pressure. Typically, governments that make such loans also import their own workers for development projects, depriving recipient countries’ workers of jobs.

Working with communities

Two men pointing at boxes marked "USAID" (U.S. Embassy India/Gaurav Dhawan)
USAID delivers 100 ventilators to India. (U.S. Embassy India/Gaurav Dhawan)

USAID’s programs promote food security and global health, two goals especially important during the COVID-19 pandemic.

In addition to providing more than $20 billion to help dozens of countries fight the novel coronavirus, the U.S. recently established four new partnerships under Feed the Future, a food-security initiative.

USAID Deputy Administrator Bonnie Glick announced the partnerships on September 17. She highlighted the importance of agricultural innovation in ending hunger. The partnerships “remind everyone of what America stands for — and that is economic prosperity, long and healthy lives, and human dignity,” Glick said.