美国救援人员随时待命搜救震灾幸存者

当华盛顿市郊的两名消防队长查看他们的智能手机上的地震应用程序时,他们并不仅是出于好奇。

特雷西·里德(Tracey Reed)和马克·施罗德(Mark Schroeder)都是城市搜救队的成员,随时接受美国国际发展署(U.S. Agency for International Development)的调遣,应其他国家的要求前往救助震灾幸存者。

里德说:“我们随时待命。我们收拾好行装,候命待发。”他在费尔法克斯县消防及救援局(Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department)工作多年,是该局精干的城市搜救队的成员。

美国国际发展署外国灾害援助办公室(Office of U.S. Foreign Disaster Assistance)同弗吉尼亚州费尔法克斯县和加利福尼亚州洛杉矶县消防局的两支优秀的搜救队签订了合约,在几个小时之内便能调动所有救援工具、物资及其他设备。2015年4月尼泊尔遭受7.8级地震袭击时,这两支搜救队都被派去救援。有近9000人在这场震灾中丧生。

这两支救援队在派遣到海外时,被称为USA1队和USA2队。他们同尼泊尔救援队并肩努力,救出了一名被压在加德满都(Kathmandu)一幢倒塌的9层楼的水泥板下长达5天的15岁少年塔芒(Pemba Lama Tamang),营救过程激动人心。

负责监管费尔法克斯县紧急医疗技术人员的施罗德在这名少年在围观者的欢呼声中从瓦砾中被抬出来后帮助对他进行了治疗。48岁的施罗德说:“我记得最清楚的是周围的人群由衷的喜悦、快乐和兴奋之情。”

救援人员在废墟中搜救(Master Sergeant Jeremy Lock/USAF)
弗吉尼亚州费尔法克斯县城市搜救队成员于2011年在日本遭受震灾后前往救援。(Master Sergeant Jeremy Lock/USAF)

除了挖掘设备之外,美国搜救队还带着能嗅出被埋在瓦砾之下的灾民的气味的搜救犬。正是美国搜救队的两只搜救犬在尼泊尔帮助确定了少年塔芒的位置。

里德介绍说,弗吉尼亚州第一特遣队(Virginia Task Force 1)的名单上有210人,每次最多派出70人执行任务,“目的是在每个岗位上都安排三个人”,因为并非每个人在接到命令时都能马上出发。

联邦紧急事务管理署(Federal Emergency Management Agency)有时在美国国内受灾后会部署弗吉尼亚州第一特遣队前往救灾。里德曾两度在北卡罗来纳州和南卡罗来纳州发生水灾后前往救援。她还参加过在蒙古和亚美尼亚举行的国际培训演习。

今年40岁的里德从16岁就开始当志愿消防员了。她说:“我们全年都进行训练。即使当年没有部署任务,也会进行大量训练。”

施罗德为美国向寻求帮助的国家提供的援助感到自豪。他说:“我们是一个有爱心的国家。每当世界任何地方发生灾难时……我们都会到那里去。”

U.S. rescuers stand ready to find earthquake survivors

When two fire captains in a suburb of Washington check earthquake apps on their smartphones, their interest is more than idle curiosity.

Tracey Reed and Mark Schroeder belong to an urban search and rescue squad that the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) keeps on standby for when other countries request help extricating survivors of earthquakes.

“We’re always prepared. We keep our bags packed at all times,” said Reed, a Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Department veteran and member of its skilled urban search and rescue team.

The Office of U.S. Foreign Disaster Assistance at USAID contracts with two elite squads from the Fairfax County, Virginia, and Los Angeles County, California, fire departments to deploy with all their rescue tools, supplies and other equipment within hours. They both deployed when a 7.8 magnitude earthquake struck Nepal in April 2015. Nearly 9,000 lives were lost.

The USA 1 and USA 2 crews, as they are called when deployed overseas, worked alongside Nepalese teams on the dramatic rescue of Pemba Lama Tamang, 15, who was trapped for five days under concrete slabs in a collapsed nine-story building in Kathmandu.

Schroeder, who supervises emergency medical technicians in Fairfax, helped treat the youth after he was carried out of the rubble to onlookers’ cheers. “What I remember most is the sheer joy and happiness and energy of the crowd,” said Schroeder, 48.

Rescue personnel searching through debris (Master Sergeant Jeremy Lock/USAF)
Members of the Fairfax County, Virginia, urban search and rescue squad in Japan following its 2011 earthquake. (Master Sergeant Jeremy Lock/USAF)

Along with digging equipment, the American search teams bring dogs that can detect the scent of people trapped deep beneath rubble. Two dogs that the Americans brought to Nepal helped locate Tamang.

Virginia Task Force 1 has a roster of 210 people and sends up to 70 on missions. “The goal is to be three deep at every position” since not everyone is available when a summons comes, Reed said.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency deploys Virginia Task Force 1 within the United States after some disasters. Reed has twice gone on rescue missions after floods in North and South Carolina. She has also taken part in international training exercises in Mongolia and Armenia.

“We train year-round,” said Reed, 40, who started volunteering as a firefighter at age 16. “Even if there are no deployments that year, there’s a lot of training.”

Schroeder takes pride in the role the United States plays when countries seek help. “We are a loving country,” he said. “Whenever anything catastrophic happens in the world … we’ve always been there.”