美国归还被盗中国文物

在美国一座住宅中发现的数量空前的42000件世界各地文物,已由美国联邦调查局(FBI)整理装箱,其中许多被送还给中华人民共和国,物归原主。

这些文物——其中包括公元前500年的中国文物,一直被已故唐·米勒(Don Miller)收藏在他在印第安纳州(Indiana)乡间的家中。米勒在一些国家从事挖掘时偷盗了这些文物。2015年临终前不久,米勒与联邦调查局的艺术品犯罪工作组(Art Crime Team)合作,将大约7000件文物交到联邦调查局。

Three photos of Chinese artifacts on a table (© Sam Riche/State Dept.)
在印第安纳州一个住宅中发现的现已归还中国的一些文物。 (© Sam Riche)

在361件被确定属于中国的文物中有首饰、花瓶以及其他艺术品。

联邦调查局通过与中国国家文物局密切合作,完成了美国向中华人民共和国的这次有史以来最大规模的文物归还。

中国驻芝加哥领事馆副总领事刘军说,“这些物品应在中国展出,让人们看到”。在2月28日在印第安纳波利斯(Indianapolis)举行的归还仪式上,刘军对美中两国的合作表示赞赏。

Man and woman shaking hands next to table with documents as others look on (© Sam Riche/State Dept.)
中国国家文物局官员温大严与美国调查局官员克里斯蒂·约翰逊在签署交还中国文物的文件后握手(© Sam Riche)

米勒曾经常向他人展示他的收藏。2014年,联邦调查局的艺术品犯罪工作组发现了这些收藏并予以没收。米勒获得这些文物的方式很可能违反了美国联邦法和国际条约。

联邦调查局打击跨国有组织犯罪部门主管克里斯蒂·约翰逊(Kristi Johnson)说,这些文物是中国艺术美和艺术信仰的代表,然而在米勒那里,它们只不过是货物。

在归还中国前,联邦调查局调动了印第安纳大学-普渡大学印第安纳波利斯校区(Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis [IUPUI])的考古学和博物馆学研究生,帮助保管这些文化宝藏。学生们在霍莉·丘萨克-麦克维(Holly Cusack-McVeigh)教授的指导下,在一个恒温储藏设施中对文物进行了清点登记和保管。

参加这项工作的学生艾米莉·哈纳沃特(Emily Hanawalt)说,“将它们归还各自的国家非常好”。

Men wearing gloves handling cultural artifacts (© Sam Riche/State Dept.)
保罗·克里雷(Paul Kriley)(中)和乔希·拉米雷斯(Josh Ramirez)(右)整理将送还中国的文物。(© Sam Riche)

美国与中国在10多年前首次签署了保护和维护文化遗产的双边协议。今年,在美中两国建交40周年之际,美国国务院教育与文化事务局(Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs)与中国相应机构在北京更新了这项协议,以便继续为艺术、文化特质和文化遗产提供保护。

这项五年协议将使双方在没收和归还非法出境的文物财产以及在阻止掠盗古迹方面携手合作。

Man being interviewed by reporters holding microphones and cameras (© Sam Riche/State Dept.)
胡冰在文物归还仪式上对记者讲话。(© Sam Riche)

中国国家文物局副局长胡冰表示,这种合作显示了对世界各地人民的文化权利和民族感情的尊重。

本文由自由撰稿人Andrea Vega Yudico撰写。

U.S. returns stolen artifacts to China

After making its largest discovery of cultural property ever — 42,000 artifacts from around the world — at one U.S. home, the FBI has begun packing up and sending many of the items to the People’s Republic of China, where they belong.

The Chinese artifacts, some dating to 500 B.C.E., had been kept in the late Don Miller’s rural Indiana home. Miller had stolen artifacts on digging expeditions in other countries and, shortly before his death in 2015, he cooperated with the FBI’s Art Crime Team and relinquished approximately 7,000 of them to the bureau.

Three photos of Chinese artifacts on a table (© Sam Riche)
Some of the artifacts found in an Indiana home that have been returned to China (© Sam Riche)

The 361 artifacts identified as rightfully belonging to the Chinese include jewelry, vases and other art.

The FBI has worked closely with China’s National Cultural Heritage Administration to accomplish the largest repatriation of cultural items from the U.S. to the People’s Republic of China.

“The items should be displayed in China to let people have a look,” said Jun Liu, deputy consul general of the Chinese Consulate General in Chicago. At a February 28 repatriation ceremony in Indianapolis, Jun praised the cooperation between the U.S. and China.

Man and woman shaking hands next to table with documents as others look on (© Sam Riche)
Wen Dayan of China’s National Cultural Heritage Administration shakes hands with the FBI’s Kristi Johnson after signing documents transferring artifacts to China. (© Sam Riche)

Miller had often exhibited his collection to others. But in 2014, the FBI’s Art Crime Team discovered it and seized the artifacts Miller likely had acquired in violation of U.S. federal laws and international treaties.

The artifacts represent China’s beauty — and faith in art — but in their time with Miller were reduced to mere commodities, said Kristi Johnson, chief of the FBI’s transnational organized crime section.

Before returning them to Chinese officials, the FBI curated the cultural treasures, enlisting the help of anthropology and museum studies graduate students from Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI). Under the guidance of their professor, Holly Cusack-McVeigh, the students inventoried and cared for the artifacts in a climate-controlled warehouse.

“It’s great [to] return them to their home countries,” said Emily Hanawalt, a student at IUPUI.

Men wearing gloves handling cultural artifacts (© Sam Riche)
Paul Kriley (center) and Josh Ramirez (right) pack artifacts to send them back to China. (© Sam Riche)

More than 10 years ago, the U.S. and China signed their first bilateral agreement to protect and preserve cultural heritage. Earlier this year in Beijing, on the 40th anniversary of the establishment of U.S.-China diplomatic relations, the State Department’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and its Chinese counterparts updated the agreement to continue the preservation of art, identity and cultural heritage.

The 5-year agreement ensures cooperation on the seizure and repatriation of illegally exported cultural heritage property and on stopping pillage of archaeological sites.

Man being interviewed by reporters holding microphones and cameras (© Sam Riche)
Hu Bing speaks with reporters at the cultural repatriation ceremony. (© Sam Riche)

Hu Bing, deputy administrator of China’s National Cultural Heritage Administration, said such cooperation shows “respect for cultural rights and national emotions of peoples from across the world.”

This article was written by freelance writer Andrea Vega Yudico.