美国对委内瑞拉实行的制裁措施

迈克尔‧莫雷诺和尼古拉斯·马杜罗交谈(© Ariana Cubillos/AP Images)
尼古拉斯·马杜罗(右)和委内瑞拉最高法院首席法官迈克尔‧莫雷诺(Maikel Moreno)都在美国的制裁名单上。(© Ariana Cubillos/AP Images)

自2017年以来,美国对委内瑞拉国内和国外的与前马杜罗政权有关联的人员、公司和石油实体实施了制裁。

制裁措施为什么是必要的?哪些人切实受到影响?

美国的制裁措施旨在确保马杜罗及其亲信不从能使该政权从事犯罪活动及践踏人权行径的非法采金、国有石油运营或其他商务交易中牟利。

以石油制裁为例,美国国务院的卡丽·菲利佩蒂(Carrie Filipetti)对美国参议院的一个委员会表示,石油制裁旨在“切断这些金融收入的来源,防止石油产业被利用来提供支持”。

这意味着制裁措施也针对像哥伦比亚商人艾利克斯·萨博(Alex Saab)这样的人,萨博利用一个空壳公司网络,采取贿赂和给予回扣的手段掩盖通过未竞标的估值超高的合同获得的利润。现在他已受到制裁,不再被允许在美国或通过美国金融系统做生意。

经济学家一致认为,委内瑞拉的经济衰败不是美国的制裁造成的。根据布鲁金斯研究所(Brookings Institution)和哈佛大学(Harvard University)的一项研究,“在分析委内瑞拉长期以来的几项社会经济结果时可以清楚地看到,生活标准的恶化大都发生在2017年实施制裁之前很久的时间里。”

而且尽管美国政府对亲马杜罗的人员和公司实施了制裁,美国向委内瑞拉提供的援助数量并没有减少。

美国政府在2017至2019年间向委内瑞拉人民提供了超过6.56亿美元拯救生命的援助。特朗普总统提出的2021财年预算案包括满足委内瑞拉的卫生和农业需求的2.05亿美元在内。

尽管美国政府对有关人员和组织实施了制裁,但美国国务院的埃利奥特·阿布拉姆斯(Elliott Abrams)表示:“对于那些想为委内瑞拉的民主未来做贡献的人,制裁不需要是永久性的。”但“那些继续从马杜罗那里得利或支持他的人应当受到警告”。

U.S. sanctions on Venezuela explained

Maikel Moreno and Nicolás Maduro speaking (© Ariana Cubillos/AP Images)
Nicolás Maduro, right, and Maikel Moreno, the president of Venezuela's supreme court, are on the U.S. sanctions list. (© Ariana Cubillos/AP Images)

Since 2017, the U.S. has sanctioned people, businesses, and oil entities associated with the former Maduro regime, both inside and outside of Venezuela.

Why are sanctions necessary and who actually feels their impact?

U.S. sanctions are designed to ensure that Maduro and his cronies don’t profit from illegal gold mining, state-operated oil operations, or other business transactions that would enable the regime’s criminal activity and human rights abuses.

For example, the oil sanctions are designed to “to cut off those sources of financial income and prevent the oil industry from being exploited for patronage,” State Department’s Carrie Filipetti told a U.S. Senate committee.

This means sanctions go after someone such as Alex Saab, a Colombian businessman who used a network of shell companies to hide profits from no-bid, overvalued contracts obtained through bribes and kickbacks. Now that he is sanctioned, he is no longer allowed to conduct business in the U.S. or through the U.S. financial system.

Economists agree that U.S. sanctions are not responsible for the Venezuelan economy’s decline. According to a Brookings Institution and Harvard University study, “when analyzing several socioeconomic outcomes in Venezuela across time, it becomes clear that the bulk of the deterioration in living standards occurred long before the sanctions were enacted in 2017.”

And while the U.S. government imposes sanctions on pro-Maduro people and businesses, it doesn’t decrease the amount of aid that the U.S. contributes to Venezuela.

The U.S. government provided over $656 million in life-saving aid to the Venezuelan people between 2017 and 2019. President Trump’s proposed FY 2021 budget includes $205 million to address Venezuelans’ health and agriculture needs.

While the U.S. government has placed sanctions on people and organizations, the “sanctions need not be permanent for those who want to contribute to Venezuela’s democratic future,” explained the State Department’s Elliott Abrams. But “others who continue to profit from or support Maduro should take warning.”