地球表面70%以上都被水覆盖着。人类对全世界海洋事务采取什么规则?

这个问题涉及国际法的一项基本原则,“海上自由权”(freedom of the seas)。海上自由权对贸易、旅行和国家安全等各方面都会产生影响,具有十分重要的意义。

几千年以来,人们一直依靠海洋维持生计,从事商业、探索和发现。国际海洋法体系来源于对这些领域各种利益进行平衡的需求,包括安全、商业和资源。

世界各地对海洋事务是否采取同样的方式?

否。绝非如此。一个明确界定的国际法体系仅为所有的海洋索求和活动提供了一个框架,但这些规则因地而异。

在历史上,各国对其海岸沿线的水域以及在多大范围内对海洋拥有完全的主权提出了各种各样的索求,要求与在陆地上一样对海洋行使管辖和控制权。

World map (© Artokoloro Quint Lox Limited/Alamy)
图为1778年绘制的贝林(Bellin)航海地图,通常采用麦卡托(Mercator)投影绘制,水手们在长途航行时,无需重新计算他们的方位。(© Artokoloro Quint Lox Limited/Alamy)

人们经过长期的争论产生了这样一条规则:沿海国家只能对靠近其海岸线的狭窄水域拥有控制主权,称之为“领海”(territorial sea)。 在领海之外,“公海”(high seas)被宣布为对所有国家都是自由的,不属于任何国家。

在很长一段时期内,领海可以一直延伸到一个国家能够从陆地对其进行控制的地方。这一范围与从海岸发射的炮弹飞行距离有关,被认为大约是3海浬。根据1982年对《联合国海洋法公约》(United Nations Law of the Sea Convention)进行的谈判,领海主权范围被扩大到12海浬。

什么是“公海”?

Graphic showing definitions for distances extending from shore (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)
国家控制着从海岸向外延伸12海浬的领海。但在向外延伸24海浬的“毗邻区”内,可以惩罚在其领土或领海范围内所发生的与海关、财政、移民和卫生法相关的违法行为。各国对专属经济区内的所有经济资源拥有控制权,专属经济区指从海岸向外延伸200海浬的范围。(State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)

在国际法中,“国家水域”实际上并非是一个确定的术语。视不同地区而定,所有海域在不同程度上都是国际性的。例如,在某个国家的领海范围内,所有国家的船舶都享有“无害通行权”(Innocent Passage)。但有时候,“国际水域”被用于非正式地表达任何国家领海之外的水域。

在这些水域,所有的国家都享有“公海自由权”(high seas freedoms),如航行和飞越领空的自由,以及海洋的其他合法使用。一般而言,这意味着任何国家的船只, 即便是悬挂内陆国家旗帜的船只都有权在不受任何其他国家干涉的情况下行使这些自由权利。《联合国海洋法公约》阐明了这项国际惯例。

《联合国海洋法公约》还对另外一个重要的海洋区域做出了规定:沿海国家可以在自海岸线向外延伸200海浬的区域内提出“专属经济区”(exclusive economic zone)的要求。在这一区域内,该国出于某些有限的目的,可以拥有特定的权利和管辖权,包括渔业管理和利用水力和风力生产能源。关于海洋的传统用途,美国认为《联合国海洋法公约》体现了国际惯例法,对所有国家都具有约束力。

当两个国家的领海或专属经济区互相重叠时该怎么办?这两个国家需要就限定国家索求的海洋边界达成共识。

如何处理国际水域的活动?

国际水域的活动很频繁!

大约有9万艘商船在国家之间运送货物。另外,所有的国家都可以在国际水域铺设水下管道和电缆。专属经济区和公海的捕鱼活动也非常重要。

Wind turbines in large body of water (© Simon Dawson/Bloomberg/Getty Images)
伦敦阵列海上风电场(London Array Offshore Wind Farm)。(© Simon Dawson/Bloomberg/Getty Images)

但是,即便是在领海范围之内,所有的船只(包括军用船只)只要不从事某些被认为是破坏沿海国家和平、良好秩序或安全的特定活动,也都有无害通行的权利 ,可以迅速地过境领海。有时候,有些国家会提出过度的海上索求(excessive maritime claims),以图非法限制进入或使用这些海洋的权利。

当这种情况发生时,美国国务院(Department of State)就会向有关政府就此类非法索求提出抗议,并与这些国家一起使其索求符合《联合国海洋法公约》所阐明的国际法规。此外,国防部(Department of Defense)可以采取“航行自由”行动来维护海上航行权这一国际准则。例如,这可能意味着,在某个国家提出过度的海上索求,要求限制船舶行使航行权和自由的水域,美国会派遣海军舰艇穿过这些水域。

无论涉及哪一个沿海国家,美国都会对过度的海上索求提出抗议,并在原则基础上采取自由航行行动,对盟国和合作伙伴所提出的过度海上索求也会提出抗议。

Ship on open water (U.S. Navy/Morgan K. Nall)
2018年3月,某舰在印度洋(Indian Ocean)执行航行自由行动。((U.S. Navy/Morgan K. Nall)

2017年,美国在20多个国家沿海采取航行自由行动,包括柬埔寨、中国、印度、印度尼西亚、马来西亚、马尔代夫、菲律宾、斯里兰卡和越南等。

如何处理海盗问题?

国际海域的海盗行为会对人身和国际商业造成重大损害。海盗袭击可以阻止运送人道主义援助物资,提高货物的交易成本并危及船员的人身安全。

Military personnel approaching boat, helicopter in distance (Cassandra Thompson/U.S. Navy/Getty Images)
在亚丁湾(Gulf of Aden)举行的多国打击海盗行动期间,美国海岸警卫队(Coast Guard)成员准备登上一艘小船。(Cassandra Thompson/U.S. Navy/Getty Images)

正如《联合国海洋法公约》所表明的那样,所有国家都有义务合作制止海盗行为。任何国家都可以在公海上逮捕海盗并对其进行审判。这一长期的国际法原则是各国享有 “普遍管辖权”(universal jurisdiction)罕见的例子。

Water covers more than 70 percent of the planet’s surface. What rules apply in the world’s oceans and seas?

That’s where “freedom of the seas,” a fundamental principle of international law, comes in. It’s important because it affects everything from trade to travel to national security.

For many thousands of years, we have relied on the ocean for sustenance, commerce, exploration and discovery. A system of international maritime law grew out of a need to balance various interests in these areas, including security, commerce and resources.

Isn’t water everywhere treated the same?

No, it isn’t. A well-defined body of international law provides a framework for all claims and activities at sea, and the rules vary by location.

Historically, countries made all sorts of claims about the waters along their coastlines and how far out into the ocean they had full sovereignty — in other words, where they could exercise jurisdiction and control in ocean waters much as they did on land.

World map (© Artokoloro Quint Lox Limited/Alamy)
Nautical maps such as this one, the Bellin map of the world from 1778, were often drawn with the Mercator projection, which meant sailors didn’t need to recalculate their bearings on long voyages. (© Artokoloro Quint Lox Limited/Alamy)

After much debate, the rule emerged that coastal countries could have sovereignty control only in a narrow band of water close to their shoreline, called a “territorial sea.” Beyond that, the “high seas” were declared free for all and belonging to none.

For a long time, territorial seas stretched as far as a state could exercise control from land. That was linked to the distance of a cannon shot fired from shore. This was considered to be about 3 nautical miles. More recently, with the negotiation of the 1982 United Nations Law of the Sea Convention, the allowed breadth of a territorial sea claim was extended to 12 nautical miles.

So what are ‘international waters’ then?

Graphic showing definitions for distances extending from shore (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)
A state controls territorial waters up to 12 nautical miles from shore, but it can punish violations of its customs, fiscal, immigration and sanitary laws that occur within its territory or territorial waters in a “contiguous zone” up to 24 nautical miles out. States have control of all economic resources in the exclusive economic zone, which extends up to 200 nautical miles from shore. (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson)

“International waters” isn’t actually a defined term in international law. To varying degrees, depending on location, all ocean waters are international. For example, in a country’s territorial sea, ships of all states enjoy the right of “innocent passage.” But sometimes the term “international waters” is used as an informal shorthand to refer to waters beyond the territorial sea of any state.

In these waters, all states enjoy “high seas freedoms” (like the freedoms of navigation and overflight) and other lawful uses of the sea. In general, that means that ships of any country — even a ship flying the flag of a landlocked country — are entitled to exercise those freedoms without interference from any other state. This system of customary international law is reflected in the Law of the Sea Convention.

The Law of the Sea Convention also provides for another important maritime zone: Up to 200 nautical miles offshore, a coastal nation can claim an “exclusive economic zone” or EEZ. In that zone, the country has specific rights and jurisdiction for certain limited purposes, including managing fisheries and producing energy from the water and wind. With respect to traditional uses of the ocean, the United States considers that the Law of the Sea Convention reflects customary international law, binding on all countries.

What happens when two countries’ territorial seas or EEZs overlap each other? The two countries need to agree to a maritime boundary that delimits the countries’ claims.

What happens in international waters?

A lot!

About 90,000 commercial vessels transport goods between countries. Also, all countries can lay underwater pipes and cables in international waters. Fisheries in EEZs and on the high seas are also important.

Wind turbines in large body of water (© Simon Dawson/Bloomberg/Getty Images)
The London Array Offshore Wind Farm (© Simon Dawson/Bloomberg/Getty Images)

But even in the territorial sea, all vessels (including military vessels) have the right of innocent passage — they may expeditiously transit territorial waters as long as they do not engage in certain specified activities deemed to disrupt the peace, good order or security of the coastal state. Sometimes, countries make excessive maritime claims that attempt to unlawfully restrict access to or use of the seas.

When this happens, the U.S. Department of State often lodges a protest with the government for making unlawful claims, and works with the country to bring its claim into accordance with international law as reflected in the Law of the Sea Convention. Also, the Department of Defense may conduct a “freedom of navigation operation” to assert the international principle of freedom of the seas. This could mean, for example, sending a naval ship through the waters where a country has made an excessive claim professing to restrict ships’ abilities to exercise their navigational rights and freedoms.

The United States protests excessive maritime claims and conducts freedom of navigation operations on a principled basis regardless of the coastal state, including to protest excessive claims by allies and partners.

Ship on open water (U.S. Navy/Morgan K. Nall)
This ship was part of a freedom of navigation exercise in the Indian Ocean in March 2018. (U.S. Navy/Morgan K. Nall)

In 2017, the U.S. conducted freedom of navigation operations off the coasts of nearly two dozen states, including Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Maldives, the Philippines, Sri Lanka and Vietnam.

OK, so what about pirates?

Piracy in international waters can cause great harm to people and international commerce. Pirate attacks can prevent delivery of humanitarian assistance, raise the costs of traded goods, and endanger ship crews.

Military personnel approaching boat, helicopter in distance (Cassandra Thompson/U.S. Navy/Getty Images)
U.S. Coast Guard members prepare to board a vessel as part of multinational anti-piracy operations in the Gulf of Aden. (Cassandra Thompson/U.S. Navy/Getty Images)

As the U.N. Law of the Sea Convention reflects, all states have an obligation to cooperate to stop piracy. Any nation can arrest pirates on the high seas and put them on trial. This longstanding principle of international law is a rare example where states enjoy “universal jurisdiction.”