说起看电影,我们往往会想到美国好莱坞(Hollywood)最新的大片,希望欣赏最佳演员、最佳导演和编剧为我们创作的新作品。

但人们不知道的是,在中国,共产党可能迫使制片方更换人物角色,改编或删除某些视觉片段,甚至改写整个剧本。

你如果在中国发表自己的作品,政府都会进行审查。每一份报纸、每一个电视节目、甚至个人的社交媒体文章,都会受到钳制,即使是其他国家制作的影片也不例外。

中国的审查条例含糊不明,执行情况也不一致。任何被认为反对中国的作品都会受到禁止。任何审查人员认为有违社会道德规范或不符合中国利益的内容都在被禁之列。

中国的审查制度往往迫使影片制作方改写细节,更换人物角色或者重新撰写主要情节。

去年,副总统彭斯(Pence)发表讲话指出,北京经常要求好莱坞严格地以正面形象表现中国。北京采取各种措施,利用本身的经济条件和巨大的市场规模对工商业发挥自己的影响。

中国的审查制度有什么表现?首先,你的剧本如果谈到西藏或台湾,就要做好推翻重来的打算,否则影片就会在中国被禁演。以1986年的影片《壮志凌云》(Top Gun)为例,汤姆·克鲁斯(Tom Cruise)扮演的角色身穿一件皮夹克,上面缝制着代表日本和台湾的旗帜。但是在影片续集的预告片中,这些已不见踪影。

曼威(Marvel)旗下的漫画作品《奇异博士》(Dr. Strange)也是如此。观众们惊奇地发现1963年第一次出现的西藏“至尊魔法师”(Ancient One)在2016年的影片中变成了凯尔特(Celtic)人。

考虑到中国的因素,现在“至尊魔法师”变成了爱尔兰人。

一位作者在文化播客节目中谈到,“你如果承认西藏是某地,或者某人是藏人, 中国政府很可能会告诉你,‘你知不知道这是全世界观众最多的国家之一?我们不会因为你们想表示政治倾向而放映你们的影片。’”

洛杉矶时报(Los Angeles Times)报道,2012年的影片《赤色黎明(Red Dawn)》通过数字手段将中国国旗改成了北韩国旗。

米高梅(MGM)公司负责全球市场的执行副总裁迈克·沃尔曼(Mike Vollman)告诉洛杉矶时报,“米高梅与《赤色黎明》的导演和制片方一起为全世界的观众观看这部影片制作了最具有商业可行性的版本。”

副总统彭斯说,共产党对不以正面形象表现中国的制片厂和制作方进行惩罚。“北京的审查人员对于批评中国的影片很敏感,哪怕批评的方式很温和,都要求改编或禁止放映。”

You’re at a movie, ready to enjoy Hollywood’s latest blockbuster. You know the best actors, directors and screenwriters have worked together to entertain you.

What you probably don’t know: China’s Communist Party may have forced the studio to replace characters, change or omit visuals, even alter the entire plot.

If you publish something in China, the government censors it. Every newspaper, every television show, even your personal social media posts — all can be suppressed. Even movies made in other countries.

China’s censorship rules are vague and inconsistently enforced. Anything deemed anti-China can be banned. So can content that violates a censor’s view of desirable social morality or which the censor decides somehow goes against China’s interests.

China’s censors force movie studios to change details, alter characters, and rewrite major plot points.

“Beijing routinely demands that Hollywood portray China in a strictly positive light,” Vice President Pence said in a speech last year. Beijing is “taking steps to exploit its economic leverage and the allure of their large marketplace to advance its influence” over businesses.

What does Chinese censorship look like? For starters, if your script includes Tibet or Taiwan, be prepared to rewrite it, or find your movie banned in China. In the 1986 movie Top Gun, Tom Cruise’s character wore a leather jacket with patches showing the flags of Japan and Taiwan. In images released from the upcoming sequel, fans noticed the patches are no longer there.

Fans of Marvel’s Dr. Strange comic books were similarly surprised to learn that the Ancient One, a Tibetan character first introduced back in 1963, had somehow become Celtic in the 2016 movie.

Thanks to China, the Ancient One’s now Irish.

“If you acknowledge that Tibet is a place and that he’s Tibetan,” a writer said on a culture podcast, you “risk the Chinese government going, ‘Hey, you know one of the biggest film-watching countries in the world? We’re not going to show your movie because you decided to get political.’”

And, the Los Angeles Times reports, Chinese flags were digitally replaced with North Korean ones in the 2012 movie Red Dawn.

“MGM has been working with the film Red Dawn’s director and producers to make the most commercially viable version of the film for audiences worldwide,” Mike Vollman, MGM’s executive vice president of worldwide marketing, told the L.A. Times.

The Communist Party “punishes studios and producers” that don’t portray China in a positive light, Pence said. “Beijing’s censors are quick to edit or outlaw movies that criticize China, even in minor ways.”