明年,第5代无线技术将成为未来经济和公共服务的骨干,涉及我们生活的每一个方面,例如手机、自动驾驶、电网和供水系统等重要的服务。

美国国务院网络外交官罗伯特·斯特雷耶(Robert Strayer)说 ,所有这些服务都需要依靠5G网络。保障这些重要网络的安全无比重要。

遗憾的是,为支持5G新建的基础设施会使有关国家的国家安全面临威胁。其中一个重要的问题是,有关的设备可能由受到外国政府控制或摆布的公司负责安装。

 

(State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson )

正是因为如此,特朗普总统(President Trump)于5月15日签发行政命令 ,禁止美国公司使用可对国家安全造成隐患的任何公司的电讯设备或服务。

特别是中国的电讯承包方都需要按照法律服从中国政府及其情报机构的利益。如果华为或其他中国设备制造商建造某一个国家重要的5G基础设施,中国政府就有可能对这些网络实施控制。

斯特雷耶告诉美国公共广播公司新闻一小时(PBS NewsHour)节目说,在中国,私人公司和政府实际上毫无区别。中国政府可以迫使公司采取行动。这些公司都完全按照中国共产党的指示行事。

窃听或更恶劣的行为

不可信的承包方可以窃取经过另一个国家5G网络的数据,不仅会损害依靠这些数据的服务,也可以获取机密信息。斯特雷耶在谈到中国公司的问题时说,他们可能接受破坏网络安全的命令,窃取个人信息或知识产权,从事间谍活动,瓦解关键的服务或采取网络攻击行为。

但是问题远远超出政府可能迫使承包商从事间谍活动的情况。5G技术将为未来经济运营的基础设施提供骨干:电网、供水管道、自动驾驶和远程医疗等。这项基础设施如果被不可信任的承包方控制,就很容易遭到灾难性的破坏或瓦解。

解决办法

斯特雷耶说,“随着世界各国纷纷采取5G技术更新本国的通讯系统,我们要求他们采纳防范危险的安全框架。这个防范危险的安全措施的一个重要部分是对硬件和软件设备承包方进行认真的评估… …了解承包方是否受到某外国政府的控制。”

Next year, fifth-generation (5G) wireless technology will begin to form the backbone of future economies and public services. It will touch every part of our lives, from cellphones to self-driving cars, to critical services such as electrical grids and water systems.

“With all of these services relying on 5G networks, the stakes for safeguarding these vital networks could not be higher,” said the U.S. Department of State’s cyber diplomat, Robert Strayer.

Unfortunately, the new infrastructure needed to support 5G can subject countries to threats to their national security. A major concern is that equipment might be installed by a company that can be controlled or swayed by a foreign government.

Graphic showing elements of a 5G network infrastructure over image of smart city (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson )
(State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson )

This is why President Trump signed an executive order on May 15 that bars U.S. companies from using telecommunications equipment or services of any firm posing a national security risk.

In particular, Chinese telecom vendors are required by law to serve the interests of the Chinese government and its intelligence services. If Huawei or other Chinese equipment manufacturers build a country’s underlying infrastructure for 5G, then the Chinese government would have the potential to exert control over those networks.

Graphic and text on implications of Chinese ownership of 5G companies (State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson/Photo: © Shutterstock)
(State Dept./S. Gemeny Wilkinson/Photo: © Shutterstock)

“There is no differentiation, really, between private sector companies and the government in China,” Strayer told PBS NewsHour. The Chinese government “can compel companies to take action. … They are subject completely to the direction of the Chinese Communist Party.”

Wiretaps or worse

An untrusted vendor could skim data that travels over another country’s 5G network, either to degrade services dependent on the data or to access confidential information. Speaking about Chinese companies, Strayer said that they “could be ordered to undermine network security — to steal personal information or intellectual property, conduct espionage, disrupt critical services or conduct cyberattacks.”

But the problem goes beyond governments that might compel a vendor to conduct espionage. 5G technologies will provide the backbone for infrastructure that will run future economies: electricity grids, water pipes, autonomous vehicles and telemedicine. This infrastructure will be vulnerable to catastrophic tampering or disruption if controlled by untrusted vendors.

The way forward

“As countries around the world upgrade their communications systems to 5G technology, we are urging them to adopt a risk-based security framework,” Strayer said. “An important element of this risk-based security approach is a careful evaluation of hardware and software equipment vendors and … the extent to which vendors are subject to control by a foreign government.”

A version of this story was previously published on June 4.